View Single Post
Old 07-01-2014, 08:39 AM
quilterpurpledog

This is an interesting question from my perspective since I have been a student in lots of classes and I have been a teacher for lots of classes. As a student I want a class to be organized and have an intended goal that is achieved. I like the teacher to bring lots of examples to show the technique and resulting outcome. I also like to see hand-out material that the student can either use in class or later to reinforce what she has learned. Some classes are meant to be lecture and demonstration while other are hands on. The teacher, in the hands on classes, needs to demonstrate so all students can see her demonstrate. Then, the students need to go to their work stations (set up before the class begins). The teacher should circulate to all students with nearly equal time and offer comment to each one. For those who are ill prepared or not up to speed she should suggest additional help outside the class time. Achieve the class goal.