View Single Post
Old 02-17-2015, 12:46 PM
ghostrider

Originally Posted by sewbizgirl View Post
Copyright is the right of "copy"... copy meaning the actual written words. No one has the right to take your writing, the way you explained the making of the pattern. However, making a "knock off" of the original design from pictures is fair game. It's the reason so much of the fashion world is 'knocked off'. The law does not prohibit it. Books, written patterns, song lyrics... all that "copy" is protected. Actual designs, not so much. However, an ethical person would give some sort of credit to who or what ever inspired their creation.

I am a knitting pattern designer. How I wish my actual designs were protected from being copied. However, it is only my written words-- the way I explained the instruction-- that is protected under copyright law. And even that is only enforceable if you have the money and legal representation to sue those infringing on your rights.
Whether what you call a 'knock off' is copyright infringement or not depends partly on what form the original took. Under US copyright law, the design aspect of 'functional' items such as clothing and quilts is difficult, if not impossible, to copyright. The written pattern, yes, as you said, along with any original photos, drawings or art work included. A significant exception is art quilts. They are not considered functional for copyright purposes so their design aspect is more easily protected.