Old 09-22-2015, 01:06 PM
givio

I devoured the letters in the book. Although it was a difficult time to live, the women seemed fulfilled and happy. I think 'today's woman' is missing out on a lot of wonderful things that the women expressed in those letters.

I'm satisfied with a man being in charge and 'wearing the pants.' The key, of course, for that to work is to have a good man be your partner. Credit cards have caused a lot of problems in my life, and I admire women who budget and use cash instead.

I was very happy working inside the home, being a housewife and mother. I was really blessed and fortunate to be able to do that when my boys were young. Now I have to work for a living, and even with a job I like, it's not such a fine life as the earlier one.

I loved cleaning my house and making it a welcoming place for family and friends. I liked preparing food, with each meal having something from all 'the food groups,' taking into account texture and color. I liked doing crafts with friends, with sisters, with my children. I liked the tradition of using my home for extended family gatherings at Thanksgiving, Christmas, and Easter holidays.

I pity the women who put their children in daycare and go to work as a choice instead of necessity. I never wanted anyone else to raise my sons. I never wanted to miss welcoming them home from school. I never wanted to miss their day programs at school, their lazy or active summer days; or their first word, their first missing tooth, their first dance... any of it! I selfishly wanted to know all their growing up experiences firsthand, not through the pictures or messages of a caregiver. My first son had five surgeries before he was five-- what a mess I would have been if I was at work instead of home to change his dressing and empty his catheter! What in the work-world could ever compare to family life?! I understand some women love their careers. And I certainly loved mine.