View Single Post
Old 06-15-2016, 08:00 AM
andrea_r

Default Bernina 440 QE issues

Hi there! I'm new to the board and have some questions about my machine that has been acting up recently. I know this is long but I'm trying to give as much background info as possible.

I bought a Bernina 440QE from a dealer about 5 years ago. The shop still does repairs, but is no longer a Bernina dealer. I have taken it in to be cleaned and try and clean it religiously. He did say last time that I oiled it too much. (?)

I mostly sew on Friday & Saturday, pretty much all day. I like to sew fast, and until I had issues, had the speed bar all the way up. I do a *lot* of free motion quilting with a darning foot. I had started with the BSR, but one I got going and better at FMQ, just use the darning foot.

I sew for a hobby but I also sell quilts part time (I work full time, but would love to be a full time quilter). I've been sewing for 35 years, quilting off and on through then, and been really into machine quilting for maybe 7 years. I got the Bernina to get better at FMQ, because the two machines I had at the time just couldn't do it.

About two months ago I was happily quilting away, heard a THUNK and then stitches would no longer form. The timing was off. I got that fixed and within two weeks, it happened *again*. I was able to reproduce this by sewing at top speed, so i turned the speed bar down a little so even if I floored the pedal, I wouldn't go quite that fast.

All has been well for a while. I did have issues with the machine resetting itself while I was sewing. It would turn off and on, sometimes 4 times in 5 minutes. There was a loose connection.

Now today, it happened again. I wasn't even quilting. I just turned the machine on and prepped to hem my daughter's pajama pants in a knit. I didn't even get halfway around the leg and heard a thunk. The timing is out yet again, the needle hitting the bobbin race. I am experience with working with knits and wasn't pulling.