View Single Post
Old 09-20-2016, 09:24 AM
feline fanatic
Power Poster

Originally Posted by SewingSew View Post
Since I am just beginning to learn about the materials and methods used in whole cloth quilts (which is why I started taking a class), I am curious--why could you not use Dupioni for a bed quilt? Is it something that just is never, ever used for a bed quilt? And if so, is it because it is slippery? And if that is the case and you wanted to use it, couldn't you just use a different backing that wasn't slippery? When I think of a quilt, I think of cotton, so just the idea of using other fabrics is new to me. But I would think silk, and especially Dupioni, would be luxurious if it were used in a whole cloth bed quilt.