Thread: THE YUCKY PART
View Single Post
Old 04-03-2008, 06:47 AM
mpspeedy

Hi all,

I have been quilting for 40 years. It is funny I don't see myself as 57. I guess it hits home the most when I catch a glimpse of myself in the mirror and see my mother . In the last 8 years I have suffered from a chronic autoimmune disease that has made me really get my life in order. I come at everything from a new perspective. I have kind of trained my mind to take me somewhere more pleasant when I have to endure things that are unpleasant or irritating. It works for the everyday chores we all have to do like cleaning, food prep and household chores like cleaning the cat box. I kind of focus on the end result and the other less pleasant parts seem to go by quickly. As a result of my illness I have to pace anything I do or pay in pain.
What I like best about quilting is picking out the fabrics, imagining the finished results and the hand quilting. I have enough finished quilts to be able to change my bedding probably ten times a year. I also could paper my walls with smaller items. I have given away a multitude of quilts to friends and relatives and regulary make Linus and other chairty quilts for various causes. I hand quilt for other people as that is what I do best.