View Single Post
Old 01-24-2018, 02:42 PM
nortok00

Hello all. I know this post is older but thought I would contribute. I am a beginner sewer who has just rediscovered sewing after a few decades and I love it. I'm attempting all manner of machine sewing from quilting to fashion accessories (gloves, etc.). I have never in my life attempted velcro and in doing some searches for techniques I came across this post with valuable tips. I'm not one to shy away from a challenge and could've simply tried the iron on or sticky velcro but I'm trying to expand and perfect my sewing abilities so jumped right into the sew on type. :-)

With my first attempt I used a leather needle, cotton thread and a needle/thread lubricant called Sew Smooth by H.A. Kidd (hakidd.com). I'm in Canada so this was easy to find. This lubricant is great because it evaporates fairly quickly and leaves no residue. Someone mentioned using vaseline but I was a bit concerned about greasy stains so researched a bit and found this product. My first attempt was a failure in that the spool thread snapped near the end (I was doing a 1" x 2" piece). The bobbin thread which was also cotton held fine. The snapped thread could be due to not continually lubricating the needle but also I probably should've used polyester thread like others mentioned.