Old 05-08-2019, 01:57 PM
moonrise

I've been selling at craft fairs for several years now. It's definitely interesting sometimes!

As far as buying, I actually buy very little for myself, although, if I see someone who isn't selling anything, sometimes I'll buy a little something from them to help them at least make their booth fee back. Sometimes I buy raffle tickets for door prizes or little trinkets that kids come around selling. DH usually spots some yummy food that he wants, so he loads up at the food vendors. My mom, who often helps us, loves to shop. There's no telling what'll follow her home. ha ha

Originally Posted by bearisgray View Post
...How do you feel when they look over your items carefully - knowing that they are either evaluating your workmanship or trying to figure out how to copy the item ? Do you mind? Do you want to slap their fingers? Are you pleased that they are interested enough to look?...
I completely welcome shoppers to check out my workmanship, and if they want to take a photo, that's fine. The vast majority of people have asked for permission first. In most cases, they're sending the photo to a friend to see if the friend is interested in buying the item. A lot of times it results in a sale.

It doesn't bother me if they want to try to copy my stuff, because I have all kinds of little "trade secrets" that I keep to myself. They can probably figure it out eventually, of course, but it'll take some trial and error to figure out the pattern and the techniques. As of yet, I've never seen any of my exact items being copied or sold.