View Single Post
Old 07-25-2019, 06:10 AM
IrishMom

Good Morning Owls!! My fabric is in the washing machine right now and I hope to get it cut, pictures taken, and in the mail by tomorrow.

I'm one of the four newbies to the Boom. (I'm assuming it's name came from the word Boomerang? Since the fabric comes back to you. Or is it cause, BOOM, you have all the blocks for a quilt!) I have two daughters, one in grad school the other in college. I took a sewing class when the youngest was in preschool. I made my girls matching dresses which they had the nerve to outgrow! That's when I decided my sewing would be spent on items which lasted longer than one season. I was then able to make a quilt a year for a new niece or nephew. I did a mystery class and made a cool Halloween wall hanging. When my girls started graduating from High School I became the queen of Tee Shirt quilts. And that was the time when I realized I had been quilting for over 10 years, didn't really know as much as I felt I should, and had hardly anything made for myself! So I joined these boards, had more time to do "me" stuff with the girls at college, upgraded the sewing machine, and started having fun! I now have in my house several lap quilts, a twin quilt, and a queen size quilt. In addition I've been able to make quite a few gifts as well. I've done a few swaps here - Summer Blocks, twice I did the RWB swap, 9-patch, and I am part of the Birthday swap. GramE and I were chatting about a pattern and she strongly suggested I do a Boom. I am currently finishing a 3 foot square wall hanging for my daughter in college - she wanted her dorm's logo on it, so I've been having fun with applique!