View Single Post
Old 07-31-2019, 08:20 AM
Koda1021

Default Machine Suggestions

Hello everyone! I am hoping that I can get some guidance and advice regarding choosing my new machine.

I am new to quilting and embroidery, and will confess that I love using a machine for both (I'm a tech nerd, sorry). My current machine is a Janome Memory Craft 400E. At the time, it was the only machine available to me that I could finance. I was not familiar with the different machines, etc. so I went for it (bought it in March).

I can't say that I don't like it. It does what it needs to do, but now that I was bitten by the quilting and embroidery bug, I know I want to move up. The Janome does good work, but being older it is not super fast and it doesn't have as many options as newer machines.

My home office doubles as my craft area so space is at a premium. I just finished creating an entire wall to wall corner workspace area. But, because I also have things like a Cricut cutter, etc. I don't have the room for the Janome and a sewing machine (so I'd like to get a machine that does both).

My trouble comes in that I am totally confused on brands, where to buy, etc. Being in a more rural part of the state, I don't have many sewing stores nearby (closest is about 45 minutes). I have a Joann's right up the street which has a Husqvarna/Viking gallery within it, so I went in there one day. I'll confess that the machines made me drool. It was a Sunday, and there was only one person working at the gallery, and she was teaching a few people the Premier+2 software. She looked up and asked if I needed something. I apologized that I was disturbing their class, and that I was just looking at the machines and wasn't sure which one interested me. She told me if I had questions, to ask.