Old 04-18-2008, 07:03 PM
Bernadette Harwood

Hi, I'm sooo busy don't always reply like I would like too. I would love to chat with you all all the time but just don't have the time.
I have been teaching beginners sewing and quilting for 4 years through Jo Ann Fabrics and just left last summer to teach at home. I love it and the students love the homey atmosphere. I set up my daughters bedroom into a classroom and then we also use my sewing room across the hall and through our bedroom for ironing and cutting. I was nervous at first as I wasn't sure how my students would feel going through my home to get upstairs but it has worked out quite well. Stick to word of mouth only and I will not teach men in my home alone for both of our sakes and reputation. I limit my class to 3 but usually there is one or two as someone has something else come up. More than 2-3 is just too hard as I want them to get their moneys worth and it is too tiring for more. I teach them once a week for 2 hours for $15.00. I let them stay a little longer at my choice. Some people will try to tell you when they will come and want to stop by any time of the day and you need to set the rules and stick by them. If it is convenient you can say yes if not offer a time that is good for you and your family. I'm a softy and can get runned over easily but I'm learning to stick to what is good for my family. One lady keeps trying to get me to start afternoon classes and I can't as I still need time to do my sewing, housework and whatever I want.