View Single Post
Old 03-13-2021, 08:49 PM
oksewglad
Power Poster

I hope this thread sparks an interesting line of discussion...thanks for starting it. Very thought provoking!

I'm thinking as I write so bear with me. I have been sewing for almost 60 years and started my first quilt about 8 years later as a high schooler. It was simple squares of a solid purple and, get this, brown and purple mushrooms. It didn't hold my interest and years later when it came back to me it still didn't hold my interest and I gave it away unfinished. No I don't wish it back. That long ago, quilts were generally made for one reason; to cover a bed and/or keep someone warm. And quilts followed a traditional layout format. The quilts I made did just that. I was also under the influence of Gees Bend type quilter as my mother used every piece of leftover fabric to make utilitarian quilts; quilts to keep us warm with a worn blanket as batting.