View Single Post
Old 12-15-2022, 01:03 AM
Railroadersbrat

Originally Posted by Kayle View Post
Hello! Thank you for your post
I recently inherited a Dressmaker model 2402. It still works really well, but I'm noticing a smell when it's used heavily, perhaps from the motor. The machine was kept in good condition (covered), but just unused for 20 years. Hoping to pick your brain about this machine!

- Did you buy a replacement belt? If so what did you buy?
- I plan to buy oil, but would love any additional tips for oiling a sewing machine, since this is my first time.
- You can purchase the manual here: https://manualsoncd.com/product/dres...uction-manual/

Also I broke the needle and replaced it with a universal singer (hopefully that works).
Thank you!
The smell can be a few things really, since it sat for so long, it may have acquired some unseen dust, I've had that happen with one of my older machines when I thought the case for it was air tight and it wasn't. If it smells electrical, however, stop using the machine and get it into your service guy, that could be a problem with the wiring and if you continue to use it, you run the risk of shock or fire. It could also be that there is lint or dust inside the motor that's burning off, could also be that the motor itself may be going out, too. Getting it to your service guy, he'll be able to find out what the issue is.

I actually didn't replace my belt, I had to take my machine into my guy to have it looked at after it developed several issues I couldn't troubleshoot on my own. Luckily, he fixed it, I had a timing problem and that's something that's out of my scope. The belt is a toothed belt, so it's going to be more difficult to put one on yourself unless you've done it before and that's something that your service guy will check on if you take it in and he'll replace it for you.