View Single Post
Old 04-05-2007, 12:15 PM
Carla P

Flying V Goddess,

I am sorry if I came on too strong. You are right; it is your life & money isn't everything and I didn't mean to imply anything any different. I am the Mother of 3 daughters ages 16, 13, & 11. My mother barely finished high school, so when my father passed away when I was 11, she was left to raise 3 daughters by herself. It was so difficult on the 4 of us that, at 13, I started working to help my Mom pay the bills. When I graduated high school, I dreaded going on to school more than anything, but I knew a little something about what happens to a single (by choice or not) mom when she is unprepared for the task. So, in the Fall, I went back to school. I got married a couple of months later, and had our first child within a year. I knew I had to go back, for my daughter. It took me 12 years to finish. Why did I keep going? Because every time I considered quitting I remember growing up without my Father, & for the most part without my Mother because she had to work 3 jobs. I don't make a lot of money because I have never taken the CPA exam, so I'm an "Un-CPA". (2 Years befor I finished school, they raised the requirement to a Masters Degree before you can sit for the exam.) I tell my daughters almost daily to be independant; make a little money or a lot, live an elaborate life or a simple one, just be independant. Their Father & I will not live forever, and men sometimes die or leave, so be independant in case you ever have to be.