View Single Post
Old 04-26-2010, 10:05 AM
gail-r

Originally Posted by JJs
for 325 dollars you could get EQ6 AND quite a few of the extra CDs... AND the fabric to make your own BOM...

I don't think anybody is worth that much!
I'm very sorry that you feel that way. I teach BOM classes for the fancy embroidery quilts, usually Jenny Haskins quilts since she has some of the most beautiful quilts. As an instructor I have to make sure all of the designs will work for each student, this can mean hours of re-sizing or splitting designs to fit on smaller hoops, or combining designs for larger hoops so that person is able to maximize the large hoops and have fewer re-hoopings. Often times I have to fix small mistakes on the designs, I feel that the people who take my class should have perfect designs. Also, I'm available for students who have problems or questions with a block everyday, they feel that what they learn is worth more than the $25. each month. They not only learn how to hoop for precise placement, they learn how to maximize their machines advanced features, they learn how to fix mistakes so that they don't have to start a blocks over or pick as much. They also develope friendships with other students, get advice with fabric and thread choices, have the opportunity to see first hand different colors and how those colors work for a totally different look.