Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Blocks of the Month and Week (https://www.quiltingboard.com/blocks-month-week-f9/)
-   -   Affairs of the Heart Cyber-Sew 2011 (https://www.quiltingboard.com/blocks-month-week-f9/affairs-heart-cyber-sew-2011-a-t95413.html)

QuiltswithConvicts 03-30-2011 05:20 PM

There isn't too much quilting - mostly just around every piece in the ditch, so to speak. I did straight stitch at the 6 1/2" square area. Since there isn't much area left plain, I thought any quilting wouldn't look so good on these small blocks.

Fabric Galore 03-30-2011 06:07 PM

I finally found some DMC embroidery thread at Michael's yesterday. I bought the rayon thread in gold; I've never worked with it before but it feels nice and I thought a soft sheen would look good against the black background. I will probably use the QAYG method but I do it the way Georgia Bonesteel teaches with one difference; I cut the back square 1/2" larger than my front block. I am making 10 1/2" blocks so my backing will be 11" square. I sew the front squares together with a 1/4" seam, trim the batting so it butts together and lies flat and then I fold the backing under and I blind stitch the seam by hand. The extra 1/2" makes sure I enough fabric to overlap properly on the back.

luvmortherest 03-30-2011 07:11 PM

Lesley, thank you so much for putting pictures of how you are doing these. i think they are going to help me a great deal.

lynnie k 03-30-2011 08:40 PM

Ok ladies I need help with block#14 I am making the smaller block and I have no idea on how to even attempt to make block 14 The little scrolls are kicking butt at my house.I have had no trouble with the other blocks on the list but I can't get the little scrolly things any help would be appreciated. I am doing the blocks by hand

luvmortherest 03-30-2011 09:48 PM

Originally Posted by lynnie k