Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: adding pictures the dial/up way (FUNNY)

  1. #1
    Super Member LindaR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,943
    Blog Entries
    1
    12:11 opened up quilting subjects to add new topic...typed up message and then found my pictures
    12:15....clicked on send....
    12:30...working, working
    12:35...husband goes by and says what are you swearing at?
    The computer, dial/up...pictures working working
    12:36...spring for high speed if it upsets you
    12:37...do you want another dish on the house?
    him: like no, no way...
    me: do you want to put out $80/month
    him: not really...end of subject
    12:42 WE HAVE LIFT OFF YEAH!
    Will quit bitching now.... :thumbup:

  2. #2
    Power Poster sueisallaboutquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    17,462
    Hahahahaha that was good!! (funny but not funny if you know what I mean )
    :D

  3. #3
    Super Member dungeonquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,028
    Me, too!! LOL

  4. #4
    Super Member Quilter7x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    north east
    Posts
    8,527
    Blog Entries
    1
    It might be worth the $80 for your blood pressure. :shock:

  5. #5
    Super Member C.Cal Quilt Girl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Central Ca
    Posts
    2,619
    LOL..... I always wonder if it went to sleep? :)
    still connected? :)
    Hello an I still on :)
    Time to Grab a snack :)
    Girls Room anyone ? :)
    OMG Need Chocolate :)
    How may blocks could I have finished? :)
    That reminds me have other things to get done :)
    Have a Great Day All :)

  6. #6
    Super Member Jan in VA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Piedmont Virginia in the Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mtns.
    Posts
    8,278
    I used to judge whether it was still working by how many games of Spider Solitaire I could play while waiting, LOL!

    Jan in VA

  7. #7
    Super Member wanderingcreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,706
    I can relate as I used to live in an area where dial up was the only option. When I finally got high speed I thought I had died and gone to heaven but I spent more money on Ebay as my bids were actually arriving before auctions ended.

  8. #8
    Super Member Kappy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,283
    Blog Entries
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by Jan in VA
    I used to judge whether it was still working by how many games of Spider Solitaire I could play while waiting, LOL!

    Jan in VA
    I'm with you ...only I usually go for free cell! LOL

  9. #9
    Super Member cctx.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Corpus Christi, Texas (that's me!)
    Posts
    4,870
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Jan in VA
    I used to judge whether it was still working by how many games of Spider Solitaire I could play while waiting, LOL!

    Jan in VA
    LOL.... That's what I do.
    When I download a new program like adobe or mozilla updates, I play solitaire until it finishes downloading.

  10. #10
    Super Member luv-e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Southeast Ohio
    Posts
    2,592
    Had Dial-up and so glad I could get high speed now,whew.....
    I remember how frustrating it can be......

  11. #11
    Power Poster CarrieAnne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Whitewater, WI
    Posts
    26,044
    Still got it here....I go to BFs if I have to add a pictures or something, else it might take DAYS!

  12. #12
    Super Member oksewglad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Between the dashes of a tombstone
    Posts
    9,682
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Jan in VA
    I used to judge whether it was still working by how many games of Spider Solitaire I could play while waiting, LOL!

    Jan in VA
    LOL--just have gotten high speed and have a hard time not opening Sp Sol automatically now!

  13. #13
    Super Member LindaR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,943
    Blog Entries
    1
    I play solitaire so I can watch part of the screen to see if I'm actually getting anywhere with the download. LOL...we don't even have cable by the house, dish network which is why we are nixing putting another dish on the house..oh well

  14. #14
    Super Member oksewglad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Between the dashes of a tombstone
    Posts
    9,682
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by LindaR
    I play solitaire so I can watch part of the screen to see if I'm actually getting anywhere with the download. LOL...we don't even have cable by the house, dish network which is why we are nixing putting another dish on the house..oh well
    Linda I know the feeling, but when it took me 20 minutes to access my bank account, I thought this was ridiculous. Admittedly I use the computer/internet for our farm business so it's just not for pleasure. We were getting flyers from Hughes network, so DIL up the road signed on and I followed suit. So far have not regretted it. You may live in an area (ie can't get high speed any other way) that has some Economic recovery incentives. My high speed dish is on a post as a tree blocked reception, that my be an alternative. It doesn't hurt to check into it.

  15. #15
    Super Member LindaR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,943
    Blog Entries
    1
    I checked hughes net and talked to a couple of people and found out it is really limited...she said when her GK's visited she payed big time??? I also found another server and called and they at that time wouldn't take any new customers..it was about $60/mo. Right now I pay $8/mo a big difference...either pay/up or quite bitching...LOL

  16. #16
    Super Member oksewglad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Between the dashes of a tombstone
    Posts
    9,682
    Blog Entries
    1
    My dial up was $15, so savings a little better. Why was your friends bill higher when the GK came? It's on all the time so amount of use shouldn't be an issue. Oh well, we do what we can do.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.