Dead Microwave ?

Old 08-11-2010, 08:41 AM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New York City UWS
Posts: 4,222
Default

I set it for 2 minutes but forgot to put the casserole inside. I heard a loud pop. Is it gone? Will not work at all. I can't find any re-start button, tried unplugging, etc. GE has no info on their website! Woe is me!
dotcomdtcm is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 08:44 AM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Ditter43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Crystal River Florida
Posts: 9,785
Default

Oh NO!!! That doesn't sound good!! It sounds like you cooked it good! Fortunately, microwaves aren't so expensive any more! :-(
Ditter43 is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 08:44 AM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Joan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pine Grove, California
Posts: 2,816
Default

Oh, oh.......the good news is that they are cheap to replace!
Joan is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 08:46 AM
  #4  
Super Member
 
oatw13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,685
Default

Check the breaker or fuse box. It sounds like you might have popped the breaker or blown a fuse.
oatw13 is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 08:47 AM
  #5  
Super Member
 
donnajean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland, PA
Posts: 4,157
Default

Is it a microwave that is built in? If so, it has it's own outlet or should have. See if the electric box breaker was thrown by turning that breaker off & on again. I've done just what you did, but fortunately caught my error before 2 min.
donnajean is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 09:09 AM
  #6  
Power Poster
 
amma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Out searching for some sunshine :-)
Posts: 58,857
Default

If it isn't the breaker/fuse box then I am afraid you fried your microwave :(
amma is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 10:01 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
HeatherQuilts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 624
Default

Funny.... I had the same thing happen to mine not to long ago.... put something in to microwave, and POP! scared the bejeebers outta me! I tried a few things, unplugging it and plugging it back in, different buttons, etc, but nothing worked. It was an older microwave, so rather than mess with trying to fix, we bought a new one. About $100 at Sears.
Hate to say it, but you might have to buy a new one! :?
HeatherQuilts is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 10:31 AM
  #8  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 9,589
Default

I think you cooked the cooker...to be safe, I think a new one is the way to go. Y ou wouldn't want this one leading microwaves due to a broken seal...
Tink's Mom is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 11:15 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
quiltilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 573
Default

I don't know how handy you are, but the mucrowave has its own fuse INSIDE the chassis. Many years ago, mine died, and I unscrewed the cover and found a $2.00 screw-in fuse had blown. I went to the hardware store, bought a replacement and closed it back up and it worked fine for years after.

If you are not comfortable doing that yourself (messing with the cover could possibly change the shielding), then don't try this at home.
quiltilicious is offline  
Old 08-11-2010, 06:02 PM
  #10  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SW Iowa
Posts: 32,856
Default

Sounds like it bit the dust. At least they are not to expensive now. Check out the back to collage sales.
littlehud is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
stitchinwitch
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
12
02-26-2010 03:28 AM
Lostn51
Main
27
02-05-2010 10:07 AM
quilter girl
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
54
01-02-2010 02:10 PM
butterflywing
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
14
08-15-2009 09:19 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.