Embroidered Gifts For Kids

Old 06-02-2013, 09:07 AM

Default Embroidered Gifts For Kids

I'm wanting to make embroidered gifts for my four grandkids, ages 5--1 1/2. They have waaay too many toys and plenty of clothes. When I was working I spent $50 per kid. Now that I'm retired it's too much. I'm new to embroidery so this is all a new experience for me.
Old 06-02-2013, 09:17 AM

This isn't embroidery, but one year I made my grandkids, I think 6 at the time, game quilts. They loved them.
Old 06-02-2013, 09:18 AM

It is my experience that kids like ANYTHING with their name on it. Little backpacks always seem to be a hit. I've done pillowcases that were well received. Cases for hot wheels or Barbies work well.
Old 06-02-2013, 09:27 AM

Depending on their ages, you can make tote bags for their doll clothes or hot wheels cars, pillowcases for each holiday. Mine especially loved the glow in the dark fabric for Halloween. I embroidered on the pillowcase cuffs for Christmas - "Dear Santa, I've been SOOOOO good!" Personalized placemats. Winter scarves. Nightgowns with flowers embroidered on them. If they are little enough, look up pillowcase dresses. And, of course, you can make them quilts with embroidery in each block.
Old 06-02-2013, 09:28 AM

Check out some of the in the hoop projects at Oma's; I go to oregonpatchworks.com and they have lots of embroidery companies under them. There are tic tac toe games, cloth "paperdolls" and dolls and all kinds of things for kids to play with. They aren't expensive and take up little room. Of course you can also make them a quilt or a pillow for thier beds or in the car.
Old 06-02-2013, 10:11 AM

Crayon rolls. Fun and easy to make. There's several tutes on the net. A tooth fairy pillow for the oldest. Wish my kids had one of these. The tooth fairy found it really hard to make the switch at our house. LOL The totes are a great idea for play and for school. Embroidered tees. Personalized Christmas stockings made special by Gramma.