Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
If you like to read I think you will love this book. >

If you like to read I think you will love this book.

If you like to read I think you will love this book.

Old 10-12-2009, 10:47 AM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
pennyswings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Originally from NY, now retired in Argentina. Miss the USA!!! :-(
Posts: 1,577
Default

My sister and I belong to a audio book club. She recommended this book so I purchased it. What a great story! Wonderful characters and so interesting because even though it is fiction it has a lot about quilting and its history in it. I loved it. Here is the name and the author:

"Prayers for Sale" by Sandra Dallas

Hope you get a chance to get it and that you enjoy it as much as I have.
pennyswings is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 11:49 AM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Lisanne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: East Coast
Posts: 2,222
Default

The "prayers" title puts me off somewhat. How religious a book is it?
Lisanne is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 02:05 PM
  #3  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
pennyswings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Originally from NY, now retired in Argentina. Miss the USA!!! :-(
Posts: 1,577
Default

By the way, if you can't get out you can get the book on audio file at http://www.audible.com and download it to your computer. The woman who reads it is perfect for the story.
pennyswings is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 06:25 PM
  #4  
Power Poster
 
BellaBoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Front row
Posts: 14,648
Default

I like all Sandra Dallas's novels. She writes about the strength it takes to be a woman in all her books. I haven't read one of her books I'd call religious. LOL
BellaBoo is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 12:17 AM
  #5  
k3n
Power Poster
 
k3n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 10,686
Default

Here's a review I found on Amazon - hope I haven't broken any copyright laws putting it here!

From Publishers Weekly
In her charming new novel, Dallas (The Persian Pickle Club; Tallgrass; etc.) offers up the unconventional friendship between Hennie Comfort, a natural storyteller entering the twilight of her life, and Nit Spindle, a nave young newlywed, forged in the isolated mining town of Middle Swan, Colo., in 1936. When the two meet, Hennie recognizes her younger self in Nit, and she's immediately struck with a desire to nurture and guide Nit, who is lonely and adrift in her new hometown and her brand-new marriage. As Hennie regales Nit with stories and advice, the two become inseparable and pass several seasons huddled around their quilting with the other women of Middle Swan. Even though Hennie maintains an air of c'est la vie as she unravels her life story, Nit and the reader soon realize there are tragedies and secrets hidden behind Hennie's tranquil demeanor. This satisfying novel will immediately draw readers into Hennie and Nit's lives, and the unexpected twists will keep them hooked through to the bittersweet denouement. (Apr.)
Copyright Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

It looks like the kind of thing I'd like to read, thanks Penny! :D
k3n is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 05:24 AM
  #6  
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Port Angeles, WA
Posts: 12,676
Default

oooooo sounds interesting. thanks :D
Bevanger is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 05:50 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Lisanne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: East Coast
Posts: 2,222
Default

Thanks for your answer, BellaBoo, and yes, it does sound interesting.
Lisanne is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 10:53 AM
  #8  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
pennyswings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Originally from NY, now retired in Argentina. Miss the USA!!! :-(
Posts: 1,577
Default

It is not a religious book. The title of the book was so named because of something her husband did and I will not tell you anything more because I do not want to give away anything in the book. It is a story of a brave woman who endured much in her life and the people she met. Quilting just happens to be a big part of her life

Originally Posted by Lisanne
The "prayers" title puts me off somewhat. How religious a book is it?
pennyswings is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 10:56 AM
  #9  
Member
 
stonington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: sebago, me
Posts: 66
Default

This is a great book! Read it a couple months ago and it really stayed with me..

Enjoy :D

anne
sebago, me
stonington is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 10:56 AM
  #10  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
pennyswings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Originally from NY, now retired in Argentina. Miss the USA!!! :-(
Posts: 1,577
Default

K, I loved it because it had such great main characters and because it was so well written. Quilting being part of Hennie's life just made it that much richer a story for me. I still have not finished the book because I just got it and I listen as i quilt. I am about half-way through and am throughly enjoying every minute, especially since the reader is so good. [quote=k3n]Here's a review I found on Amazon - hope I haven't broken any copyright laws putting it here!
Also love belonging to Audible.com. I have a hard time getting any books in english here and when I can they are very expensive. This is a great site because I can get any best seller I want and download from the site to my computer. They usually have great people reading the books. The books are comparably priced to the books at book stores in the US. You can listen on your computer or I can download to my iPod. They have many Mp3 options other then iPod and you can also download to a CD. Geeze would you listen to me, you would think they were giving me a commission or something. But seriously if you can't get to the library or a bookstore I find it a great substitute.
pennyswings is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
AZ Jane
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
11
04-15-2012 08:17 AM
cmputerdazed
Links and Resources
3
03-30-2011 07:53 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.