Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: If you like to read I think you will love this book.

  1. #1
    Super Member pennyswings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Originally from NY, now retired in Argentina. Miss the USA!!! :-(
    Posts
    1,578
    My sister and I belong to a audio book club. She recommended this book so I purchased it. What a great story! Wonderful characters and so interesting because even though it is fiction it has a lot about quilting and its history in it. I loved it. Here is the name and the author:

    "Prayers for Sale" by Sandra Dallas

    Hope you get a chance to get it and that you enjoy it as much as I have.

  2. #2
    Super Member Lisanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    2,263
    The "prayers" title puts me off somewhat. How religious a book is it?

  3. #3
    Super Member pennyswings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Originally from NY, now retired in Argentina. Miss the USA!!! :-(
    Posts
    1,578
    By the way, if you can't get out you can get the book on audio file at http://www.audible.com and download it to your computer. The woman who reads it is perfect for the story.

  4. #4
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    I like all Sandra Dallas's novels. She writes about the strength it takes to be a woman in all her books. I haven't read one of her books I'd call religious. LOL

  5. #5
    k3n
    k3n is offline
    Power Poster k3n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Somerset, England
    Posts
    10,712
    Blog Entries
    1
    Here's a review I found on Amazon - hope I haven't broken any copyright laws putting it here!

    From Publishers Weekly
    In her charming new novel, Dallas (The Persian Pickle Club; Tallgrass; etc.) offers up the unconventional friendship between Hennie Comfort, a natural storyteller entering the twilight of her life, and Nit Spindle, a nave young newlywed, forged in the isolated mining town of Middle Swan, Colo., in 1936. When the two meet, Hennie recognizes her younger self in Nit, and she's immediately struck with a desire to nurture and guide Nit, who is lonely and adrift in her new hometown and her brand-new marriage. As Hennie regales Nit with stories and advice, the two become inseparable and pass several seasons huddled around their quilting with the other women of Middle Swan. Even though Hennie maintains an air of c'est la vie as she unravels her life story, Nit and the reader soon realize there are tragedies and secrets hidden behind Hennie's tranquil demeanor. This satisfying novel will immediately draw readers into Hennie and Nit's lives, and the unexpected twists will keep them hooked through to the bittersweet denouement. (Apr.)
    Copyright Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

    It looks like the kind of thing I'd like to read, thanks Penny! :D

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Port Angeles, WA
    Posts
    12,753
    oooooo sounds interesting. thanks :D

  7. #7
    Super Member Lisanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    2,263
    Thanks for your answer, BellaBoo, and yes, it does sound interesting.

  8. #8
    Super Member pennyswings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Originally from NY, now retired in Argentina. Miss the USA!!! :-(
    Posts
    1,578
    It is not a religious book. The title of the book was so named because of something her husband did and I will not tell you anything more because I do not want to give away anything in the book. It is a story of a brave woman who endured much in her life and the people she met. Quilting just happens to be a big part of her life

    Quote Originally Posted by Lisanne
    The "prayers" title puts me off somewhat. How religious a book is it?

  9. #9
    stonington's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    sebago, me
    Posts
    66
    This is a great book! Read it a couple months ago and it really stayed with me..

    Enjoy :D

    anne
    sebago, me

  10. #10
    Super Member pennyswings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Originally from NY, now retired in Argentina. Miss the USA!!! :-(
    Posts
    1,578
    K, I loved it because it had such great main characters and because it was so well written. Quilting being part of Hennie's life just made it that much richer a story for me. I still have not finished the book because I just got it and I listen as i quilt. I am about half-way through and am throughly enjoying every minute, especially since the reader is so good. [quote=k3n]Here's a review I found on Amazon - hope I haven't broken any copyright laws putting it here!
    Also love belonging to Audible.com. I have a hard time getting any books in english here and when I can they are very expensive. This is a great site because I can get any best seller I want and download from the site to my computer. They usually have great people reading the books. The books are comparably priced to the books at book stores in the US. You can listen on your computer or I can download to my iPod. They have many Mp3 options other then iPod and you can also download to a CD. Geeze would you listen to me, you would think they were giving me a commission or something. But seriously if you can't get to the library or a bookstore I find it a great substitute.

  11. #11
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,092
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thank You!!! I am always looking for a great read!!! :D :D :D

  12. #12
    Super Member Edie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    Posts
    2,619
    Blog Entries
    1
    Hey, thanks a lot. I ordered from the library in audio book form (I love to sew and listen to a book - very relaxing). If you are interested, very good listening or reading - each and every book of Jennifer Chiaverini - I have every book and read and re-read. Also "These is My Words", "Sarah's Quilt" and "The Star Garden" by Nancy E. Turner (to be read in that order. Also read Jennifer Chiaverini's book from first to most recent.l

    Thanks again. Edie

  13. #13
    Super Member Lisanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    2,263
    I agree, Jennifer Chiaverini's books are wonderful!

    I'll look for the Nancy Turner books.

  14. #14
    Super Member Edie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    Posts
    2,619
    Blog Entries
    1
    There also iis another author. The way I understand it she wanted to learn to quilt, but just could not get the hang of it, so instead she wrote books, not pertaining to quilting, with the names of blocks - "Sunshine and Shadows" "Broken Dishes", Delectable Mountain" "Tumbling Blocks" and her last one is "Love Mercy" which I don't believe is a block! The author is Earlene Fowler! Enjoy! Edie

  15. #15
    Senior Member DebJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    TN originally now in MS
    Posts
    420
    No "Love Mercy" in the name of one of the main characters.

  16. #16
    Super Member Shemjo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    6,895
    I'm always looking for good books, and I am a huge fan of audio books. Thanks for sharing.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.