Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: My computer is going to our computer guy

  1. #1
    Super Member Naturalmama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    tomorrow evening. Hopefully I won't be "computerless" for too long - I don't know how long I can go without checking the classsifieds here. I've become addicted to checking several times a day - just in case there's something I MUST have! ;) (so no one post anything I'd want for a couple of days, ok?! :lol: )
    He also said to back up everything before he gets it in case he has to wipe it all out to get rid of the bad stuff. I thought he knew I was computer illiterate..... I suppose I should try to figure that one out.

  2. #2
    Moderator littlehud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    32,958
    I hope you aren't without for too long.

  3. #3
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,092
    Blog Entries
    1
    Hopefully he will get it right back to you!!! :D:D:D

  4. #4
    Super Member Naturalmama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    I hope so too!

  5. #5
    Super Member Lisanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    2,263
    I sympathize, and actually, I'm in the same boat right now.

    My 3D graphics suddenly disappeared, meaning no video and no games that use it. Downloading new drivers didn't work, so I trued a system restore, and it's telling me my system restore points are corrupted - that's scary! My anti-virus program (Norton) says no viruses.

    I'm way beyond my comfort zone in trying to deal with this, so I'm going to at least talk to Best Buy's Geek Squad and see how much it'll cost for them to check it. I don't want to pay for them to do the routine stuff - I've already done most of that. I have a couple more things to do...

    ... and I need this computer for job hunting and interview follow-ups and such. Using the local library's computer just doesn't cut it. I could use the last of my dwindling savings to by a cheap laptop, but I really don't want Vista/Windows 7. Half my software won't work with that, and I sure can't afford a few thousand right now to update it.

    (Sorry, the need to vent was strong.)

  6. #6
    Super Member butterflywing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    currently central new jersey
    Posts
    8,700
    going to the computer guy is better than going to computer heaven. be happy.

  7. #7
    Super Member Lisanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    2,263
    Update: All my woes are due to a refrigerator magnet that somehow found its way onto the outside of my computer box. So I know the cause, but not how to fix or even what-all it damaged besides the 3D graphics and System Restore.

    Best Buy Geek Squad Rant:

    Don't even bother trying to get real help from these guys. Once upon a time, they would actually help, but apparently not any more.

    Last night I went to their website. It promised 24/7 assistance, so I called the toll-free number. The machine voice promised a person if I just stayed on the line. (There was no fine print explaining that person did not mean techie.)

    Some woman who didn't sound too educated came on and wanted to know if I had a service plan. No, mine had expired. She assured me she'd transfer me to an "agent" who would help me with my problem. Said agent made it clear she wasn't a techie either, and all she could do was schedule an appointment for one. What happened to 24/7 availability?????

    I noticed that the website said it could cost as little as $19.99 to take it into the store, so I gave up for the night.

    Found the magnet this afternoon and removed it. Magnets can damage hardware as well as software, I'm told. Lovely (not).

    I called the local Best Buy store and talked to another uneducated sounding person, but this guy assured me he was a Geek Squad techie. So I told him the problems and asked what they might be able to do and how much it might cost. He assured me that they'd at least look at it for free, and I've experienced that kind of helpfulness before, so I brought it in.

    The uneducated-sounding guy didn't seem to be there. The shlub who was there barely glanced at my baby and said he'd need to "run diagnostics" on it to determine the problem(s). That would be $69.99.

    Now, okay, that does make sense, but then why couldn't they have said that on the phone and saved me (and Baby) a trip? I can't afford $69.99 right now for them to just end up telling me I need to wipe my hard drive and start over. (Which ain't gonna happen, as I have high-end software on here that can't be replaced.)

    And what happened to that so-reasonable $19.99? What does that cover?

    I am disgusted. Well, I'm not at all sure what I'm going to do. I can try replacing the graphics card for the $69.99 it would cost for the diagnostics. I can make do without games and online video. I am posting my questions on tech boards, but why couldn't someone just have listened last night on their 24/7 toll-free number and said, "we'd need to run diagnostics." ????

    Naturalmama, I sure hope you're faring better than I am. :|

  8. #8
    Super Member May in Jersey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,549
    DH & I also aren't too happy with the Greek Squad. We did get good service and not a big bill several years ago but the techie was a neighbor's son who knew us. Last year we took our computer there, neighbor's son no longer working there, and the 'free' diagnotic run and estimate for replacement parts was more than a new computer. Guess what we did? We went to the local computer guy's store and everything was fixed for a low price.

    Keeping my fingers crossed right now as I put a trojan horse into the vault this morning but computer is still runny slow.
    May in Jersey

  9. #9
    Super Member Lisanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    2,263
    May, if your computer's still slow, have you defragmented the disk lately? (If you don't know what that is, go to Start/Programs/Accessories/System Tools/Disk Defragmenter and run it. It may take a few hours, but it basically organizes the files on your hard drive so the contents of each file are together rather than strewn all over the disk. That can speed your computer up.)

    I'm thinking I'll check around for a local tech. The thing is, I'm leery because I won't know the person, and I can't afford a ton of money for diagnostics. I'm trying to find out how to do those myself.

  10. #10
    Super Member tuesy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Home!.. Why? Where are you?
    Posts
    2,259
    Restoring your computer is pretty easy. You do it off your installation disk, just follow the prompts. You can also do the "go back" feature the same way.
    Either way I hope you can figure out what is going on with your computer. I just reformatted mine for the second time. Not happy times, but it's just an annoyance and not something I would call fun by any means.

  11. #11
    Super Member Lisanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    2,263
    Quote Originally Posted by tuesy
    Restoring your computer is pretty easy. You do it off your installation disk, just follow the prompts. You can also do the "go back" feature the same way.
    Either way I hope you can figure out what is going on with your computer. I just reformatted mine for the second time. Not happy times, but it's just an annoyance and not something I would call fun by any means.
    No, I CAN'T reformat my computer. I would lose software that I can't replace. And I can't use install disks to selectively reinstall things, because HP didn't provide them. All it did was let me burn backup disks for the full reformat.

    At this point, I'm hoping a new graphics card will do the trick. Best Buy wants $60 for the same card that almost every online store sells for $30. (But I can't buy online because if it doesn't work, I need to be able to easily and quickly return it.)

  12. #12
    Power Poster sandpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,757
    Blog Entries
    9
    Oh...I feel your pain and I really do sympathize with you. I've been working on my baby almost non stop for several weeks...she might be on her last leg and I sure hope NOT!!

  13. #13
    Super Member CajunQuilter2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Back home in Louisiana for now....where next?? who knows....
    Posts
    3,296
    I too feel your pain. I am having trouble with my laptop.. I have not even had it a year yet. Went to Best Buy and I told him the fan was making horrible noise. He says "We have to mail it off to our service center, you will be without it for 2-3 weeks" I said "you are joking right??" "No mam he says." Ask me if I am a happy camper. NOT. Called hubby who is working out of town. Told him I was getting another lap top cause I cannot be without a computer for 2-3 weeks. Atleast this way I will have a back up.

  14. #14
    Super Member butterflywing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    currently central new jersey
    Posts
    8,700
    when i had windows, i always called the geek suad. they came right to house and fixed it. they charged $129.00 and stayed until it was done (it never really took that long). now i have a mac and i bring it right to the apple store. again i get good service, right then and there. they even pop in any updates without my asking while i'm there. so i'm sorry you're having these problems. i don't know what i'd do without my computer. i feel so lucky. no fabric stores worth a d**mn, but great computer service. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

  15. #15
    Super Member Naturalmama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    I'm back. It's nice to have a "computer guy" instead of a huge impersonal company to deal with. He only charged $25 and cleaned everything up. So I'm good to go again!

  16. #16
    Super Member butterflywing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    currently central new jersey
    Posts
    8,700
    whew! :!:

  17. #17
    Power Poster sandpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,757
    Blog Entries
    9
    I'm sooo happy for you....AND a bit Jealous! :mrgreen:

  18. #18
    Super Member butterflywing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    currently central new jersey
    Posts
    8,700
    don't be jealous ........ you have horsies :-P

  19. #19
    Power Poster sandpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,757
    Blog Entries
    9
    their little hoofies don't hit the keyboard right to fix the comuter though :roll:

  20. #20
    Super Member butterflywing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    currently central new jersey
    Posts
    8,700
    :lol: :lol: :lol:

  21. #21
    Super Member Lisanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    2,263
    Just wanted to say my computer is back to normal after a solid week of anxiety. More than anxiety. I was deciding whether to spend about a month's rent on a new laptop, which wouldn't have all the software that this computer has, or save it for another month of rent.

    All it took was re-enabling a setting, BUT NO ONE TOLD ME that this could be done or where. Way back when this started, someone told me to run dxdiag, which I did. All dxdiag said was that my 3D graphics were gone. It didn't say I could get them back just by clicking on a button on another tab in that very same program! And none of the techies I asked online and at Best Buy knew enough to just say, "Hey, you re-enable 3D graphics on the Display tab of dxdiag."

    So how did I discover this? Something (skipping long story here) made me try to access the online game, America's Army. (If ever you wanted to try being in the army without actually doing it, this is a great simulation game. It's created by/for our armed forces, and free to all to play.)

    Anyway, it wouldn't load, BUT IT TOLD ME HOW TO FIX THE PROBLEM!!!! I'm a software tester. Error messages that actually explain how to fix the problem are soooo rare, and I have spent much of my time on various jobs pleading with programmers and designers to create more useful error messages.

    So I'm posting this in part because my story has a happy ending, but also to give kudos to the wonderful developers of America's Army. Their short but informative error window saved my computer. http://www.americasarmy.com/

  22. #22
    Power Poster sandpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,757
    Blog Entries
    9
    That is fantastic! Isn't is so great when something works RIGHT!!! And, thanks for sharing.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.