Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk) (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/)
-   -   Quick question (https://www.quiltingboard.com/general-chit-chat-non-quilting-talk-f7/quick-question-t247153.html)

amelia0607 05-21-2014 06:50 AM

Quick question

I am going to make cushion covers for a rocking chair. My daughter has made a template of the cushions and I plan to use these to make a pillowcase style cover. I've never done this before but have watched some youtube videos.

Just wanted to see if any of you have done this and what suggestions you may have for me. I'm very much a newbie to sewing and count of you folks for wonderful guidance:)

Thanks for your help!!

Amy

Tartan 05-21-2014 07:15 AM

Are you going to use the old cushions in the new covers? If you have to buy new foam inserts, wait for a sale or coupon because they are getting pricey. You can canibalize bed pillows but some have the fiber fill that gets hard and lumpy.
If the cushions are the kind with ties, sewing Velcro at the back to close the covers between the ties, allows you to remove them to wash when soiled. Use sturdy fabric as they get a lot of wear and triple sew over the ties.

Geri B 05-21-2014 07:16 AM

Make one out of cheap muslin, old sheet or whatever first...make adjustments if necessary then go to good fabric

amelia0607 05-21-2014 08:41 AM

Excellent suggestions! Thank you ladies. I am planning to start work on this tomorrow so if anyone else would like to offer up a hint or two, I would appreciate it.

madamekelly 05-22-2014 10:45 AM

I am watching this because I am about to do the same thing for my (new to me) wooden rocker from 1976. Yes it is
one of the bicentennial ones.

Snooze2978 05-23-2014 06:45 AM

4 Attachment(s)