Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Quick question

Quick question

I am going to make cushion covers for a rocking chair. My daughter has made a template of the cushions and I plan to use these to make a pillowcase style cover. I've never done this before but have watched some youtube videos.

Just wanted to see if any of you have done this and what suggestions you may have for me. I'm very much a newbie to sewing and count of you folks for wonderful guidance

Thanks for your help!!

Amy

Power Poster
    Are you going to use the old cushions in the new covers? If you have to buy new foam inserts, wait for a sale or coupon because they are getting pricey. You can canibalize bed pillows but some have the fiber fill that gets hard and lumpy.
    If the cushions are the kind with ties, sewing Velcro at the back to close the covers between the ties, allows you to remove them to wash when soiled. Use sturdy fabric as they get a lot of wear and triple sew over the ties.

Make one out of cheap muslin, old sheet or whatever first...make adjustments if necessary then go to good fabric

Excellent suggestions! Thank you ladies. I am planning to start work on this tomorrow so if anyone else would like to offer up a hint or two, I would appreciate it.

Blog Entries
    I am watching this because I am about to do the same thing for my (new to me) wooden rocker from 1976. Yes it is
    one of the bicentennial ones.
    If you always do, what you have always done, The results never change. Change is the wings you give yourself.