Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Sewing a button......

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    8,929

    Sewing a button......

    Just came across this when I was making some crafty things that needed buttons sewed on...on my "old" Viking I merely pushed the little button on the side that was printed BUTTON, lowered feed dogs and it sews buttons.....I was doing this on my BL ellure plus---no such easy way...went to manual...read had to put on buttonhole attachment, yadah, yadah....so went to Viking to do the job! Later emailed company, recd a lengthy return stating look in manual under buttonhole, blah, blah.........really?

    I have a Project class I'm going to on Tuesday, so I will have machine and I'm going to ask

    The stranger part of this is I was watching an old episode of love of quilting (2000 series) and someone sewed on a button with a BL using an attachment M...looked that up online. 8.99, but not sure it will work on this ellure plus.

    How do you do buttons by machine? Curious...

  2. #2
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    49,468
    Blog Entries
    53
    here is some good information... they recommend the special foot too http://www.sew4home.com/tips-resourc...sewing-machine
    there is lots more info... i Googled "how to sew a button on by machine"
    i've always been too nervous to do it because i didn't want to damage the machine by hitting the button with the needle
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?

    Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    8,929
    Ok....I stand completely humbled...I read the manual ...what a concept....anyway, after buttonhole instructions there was button instructions and yes attachment M is what I use, so I have regained my confidence in this machine.

    When I do buttons by machine, I always hand turn the wheel for both holes before I step on the gas..and needle usually set at 3... Zig-zag whatever makes the swing....here's a bit of info I learned along the way....somewhere...all.buttonholes are the same distance between holes......I guess an industry standard.......

    Anyway, thanks for reading my answer do my own question

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    925
    Quote Originally Posted by QuiltnNan View Post
    here is some good information... they recommend the special foot too http://www.sew4home.com/tips-resourc...sewing-machine
    there is lots more info... i Googled "how to sew a button on by machine"
    i've always been too nervous to do it because i didn't want to damage the machine by hitting the button with the needle
    I was nervous too until I finally tried it. If you test the size of the stitch you have chosen by manually turning the wheel through one whole stitch and adjusting if needed, you should have not problem.
    Sally

  5. #5
    Power Poster ManiacQuilter2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    18,937
    I use to stitch flat buttons using a zig zag stitch with length being zero. Have to be very careful because you don't want the needle to break.
    A Good Friend, like an old quilt, is both a Treasure and a Comfort

  6. #6
    Super Member annette1952's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Harrison, MI
    Posts
    8,506
    I used to do it quite often but I don't use a lot of buttons now days. As long as you have your machine set up the proper way & use your hand wheel the first few stitches to make sure it is lined up with the button holes,then you should have no problems. I never had a problem with it

  7. #7
    Super Member Snooze2978's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Carroll, Iowa
    Posts
    2,439
    I use my Viking D1 to sew on buttons with the holes. I just adjust my zigzag to fit the distance of the holes and hit "start". Then I pull the sewn button away from the needle so I have long tie ends, thread them into a needle so I can take the ties to the backside and tie into a knot before trimming the ends.
    Suz in Iowa
    Designer EPIC, Brother XR3140
    Babylock Evolve, Innova 26" LS, MQR
    ProQ Designer, EQ7, Embird

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6,425
    I used my old 401A to sew buttons on all the time and never a problem.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    336
    Quote Originally Posted by carolynjo View Post
    I used my old 401A to sew buttons on all the time and never a problem.
    My old Singer 401A is the best and easiest machine to use for sewing on buttons.

  10. #10
    Super Member coopah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Horse Country, FL
    Posts
    7,270
    Blog Entries
    1
    My PFaff (it's fairly old..a Tiptronic) has a special stitch. Hit the button and off it goes. It goes through one hole in the button three times and then it goes over to the other hole. I am able to manually use the wheel to make sure it won't hit the button...if it does, I just adjust the stitch length. Haven't hand sewed a button on for a loooonnnng time. Once you try it, you'll be okay with it.
    "A woman is like a tea bag-you can't tell how strong she is until you put her in hot water." Eleanor Roosevelt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.