Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Tax software

  1. #1
    Senior Member Onetomatoplant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    543

    Tax software

    Itís that time of year again. Sigh. In the true spirit of procrastination, Iím thinking about thinking of doing my taxes. We use H&R Block software because we file our federal and then go to their brick and mortar for state taxes. My husband works in both NY and PA, and we live in PA. I thought Iíd try to do state myself this year. Does anyone know if the software will calculate what we owe in each state?

    Thanks in advance! Ok, back to thinking about thinking...
    I love the smell of Best Press in the morning!

  2. #2
    Super Member Stitchnripper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mableton, GA
    Posts
    9,545
    H &R block calculates our state taxes. I’m guessing they have all states in their system
    Alyce

  3. #3
    Senior Member Onetomatoplant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    543
    Quote Originally Posted by Stitchnripper View Post
    H &R block calculates our state taxes. I’m guessing they have all states in their system
    I know they’ll do states, I was just wondering if they calculate for working in two states. NY and PA have some sort of agreement, but you have to claim all your income for NY taxes and then they only tax NY part, and you have to stand on your head with your left foot touching your nose...��
    I love the smell of Best Press in the morning!

  4. #4
    Super Member Stitchnripper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mableton, GA
    Posts
    9,545
    Oh sorry. Misunderstood
    Alyce

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    5,130
    I used to do this decades ago before personal computers/software. I worked in PA and lived in NJ. If I remember correctly, you paid to the jurisdiction where you worked and got credit for that in the state in which you lived. Have you downloaded paper forms from PA/NY? Frankly, it might be easier to figure it out that way. In re-reading your initial post I see hubs get income from both states. Used to be - if I remember correctly - you paid the tax to the higher rated jurisdiction and then got that credit against the tax in your residential state. Could have changed/I could not be remembering correctly.

    Since we opened an LLC several years ago now we have a private accountant do our taxes. Worth the fee as over those years we've gotten generally triple back what we paid in fees. Depreciation and all that sort of stuff that was far more complicated than I wanted to be bothered with at that point.

    I tried Turbo Tax a number of years ago and, frankly, was underwhelmed. It asks you specific questions at the beginning of the process and if you don't exactly know the answer, you don't necessarily get the proper questions/line items that you need further down the line. Dinosaur that I am, I stuck w/paper when I was doing our taxes myself. Can't speak about the H&R software. Good luck.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    466
    Quote Originally Posted by Onetomatoplant View Post
    Itís that time of year again. Sigh. In the true spirit of procrastination, Iím thinking about thinking of doing my taxes. We use H&R Block software because we file our federal and then go to their brick and mortar for state taxes. My husband works in both NY and PA, and we live in PA. I thought Iíd try to do state myself this year. Does anyone know if the software will calculate what we owe in each state?

    Thanks in advance! Ok, back to thinking about thinking...

    Turbo tax will. It asks if you have income from more than one state.

  7. #7
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    33,948
    Our Daughter did our taxes yesterday. We are both retired so it was very easy. She does them for several people and has for 35 or so years. Now she uses online tax programs.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

  8. #8
    Super Member quiltingshorttimer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    kansas
    Posts
    4,939
    Blog Entries
    37
    DH has used TurboTax for several years now--we are both retired now,but also used when we had kids at home (so about 15yrs)and we both have income from other sources (DH as a writer, me with quilting). Our grown kids also use TurboTax and son has same situation you are talking about (work in one state, live in another) plus has a city earnings tax to deal with and TurboTax figures it all out for him.

  9. #9
    Senior Member quiltmaker52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Leesburg, FL
    Posts
    359
    You can go and input all your info for free and see how the software does the tax. I do that all the time. This year I found out that TaxAct and TurboTax didn't calculate the correct taxes owed (social security taxed was incorrect) so I then inputted into HRBlock. They did it correctly. How do I know? I am so paranoid about taxes that I make sure to calculate them myself first! Would have been an accountant if I didn't become a math teacher. One year I had to do 3 federal and 9 state returns, just for us and our two kids who moved a lot!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.