Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
Hello from California >

Hello from California

Hello from California

Old 06-23-2007, 09:22 AM

Hello from California,
I am new to the Forum and am trying to learn more about computers.
I have been quilting about three years. My problem seems to be getting
the back even and not to pucker. Any suggestions?
I live very close to the beach in southern Calif. and enjoy walking on the sand and looking for seashells. I would like to make a quilt with a beach background.
Have a happy day!!!!!
Old 06-23-2007, 10:55 AM

Welcome from the midwest. I'd love to be walking on the beach. I'm new to quilting myself and have not tried to actually quilt yet. I send my off to be done. Therefore I can't help you will your question, but there are lots of very friendly people here who I'm sure will be answering you soon. Feel free to post pics of your quilts for all of us to see.
Again welcome.
Old 06-23-2007, 11:24 AM

Hello Pat! Welcome on board! Love the shore as well. Do you use a frame when you quilt? Hand or machine? We have several threads on both methods. A lot has to do with the method of quilting and begins with the layout of the quilt sandwich. We are glad to offer any help or info for whatever the question on here. :-)
Old 06-24-2007, 05:20 AM

Hi Pat,
I live on the opposite side of the country at the Atlantic beaches in North Carolina. I do love the beaches, rain, shine, freezing, day, night, all the time. :)

The best advice I've read here and worked out for myself in preventing puckers is to anchor it tightly and then pin, pin, pin. I have a full sheet of plywood with piano hinges that we fold out on my dining table and then I have have several types of clamps that I use after I tape the right side of the back to that plywood sheet, then I spray baste my batting and then clamp the top to the rest before pinning.