Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
Hello from Georgia! >

Hello from Georgia!

Hello from Georgia!

Old 01-19-2009, 07:36 AM

I have been a lurker for a week or so and have learned alot and have seen a lot of beautiful quilts.
I am new to quilting. By first quilts were baby quilts just plain squares and sewn to the backs and then turned. No quilting. I wanted to make my son and nephew quilts and almost got a couple of the baby quilt kits. I thought I could find fabric I liked and it ended up great and cheaper then 1 kit. I then tried some pot holders to learn how to bind and did not like my results (I have learned since that the strips were to small for me to learn on). My first real quilt went great, Irish chain lap quilt. My sewing area is the dinning room portion of my great room. Every one saw it comming together and loved it. I loved making the top. The quilting was simple diagonal lines to accent the design. Then it came to binding and I froze... UFO created.... Months later a friend of mine, who for years had been trying to have or adopt a child was picked to be the adoptive parents and had 2 weeks to prepare. I wanted to make her child a quilt and not just a baby quilt one that would grow with the child. So I made another Irish chain lap quilt 50X50 with the families last inital in the middle. Since is was a boy I used dark royal blue and cream to keep it manliy. Well my sewing machine broke when I was completeing the quilting. I tiddied up the ends by folding and pinning and presented it at the shower with some other gifts and everyone loved it (the excuse I gave was I wanted to personaliz the lable with the name and birthdate). It took 3 weeks to get my machine back form the repair guy and the next day I was laid off. Of course I was depressed and could not work on something that was suppose to be filled with love and until then it was. My four yearold helped pull pins my husband helped. We sent blessing and prayers into with lots of love w