Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
Hello! I need quilting advice! >

Hello! I need quilting advice!

Hello! I need quilting advice!

Old 05-10-2020, 07:34 AM
RBQ

Default Hello! I need quilting advice!

I am a quilting newbie, and need some advice, I do not have the talent or know how to make a quilt so I had some one make one for me. I am wondering if some of the things I found on my finished quilt are normal? I have no quilt knowledge whatsoever ever except seeing them in farmers markets and wishing I could have one. I decided this year to use some birthday money and have one made out of my daughters receiving blankets. I received it 2 days ago and have washed it once. Is it normal for some of the squares to separate? Also it looks a though my quilter has sewn together several pieces of fabric together to make up some of the boarder? Is this normal for for a quilt? I would post pictures but I am unsure. Am I posting this in the wrong section of the forum?? Thanks for your help in advance!
Old 05-10-2020, 07:49 AM

Welcome to the board RBQ, sorry you are here with a problem. This is fine, if the moderators feel it should be moved they will. You are certainly welcome to post pictures of your own projects. We just changed formats here and some people are still having problems posting, we have a good help section for board issues:
https://www.quiltingboard.com/qb-help-center-f27/

So no, the squares should not have separated under normal machine washing and drying. That we piece together sections for a border is not unusual. It can be done in various ways, sometimes as quilters we have a design sense of adding in a bit of "pop" or something that might not be so appreciated by someone else.