Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
Hello from Ontario! >

Hello from Ontario!

Hello from Ontario!

Old 11-05-2011, 07:31 AM

Default Hello from Ontario!

Hi All!

I have been visiting the board for a couple of weeks now, learning my way around and peeking at everyone's beautiful work and finally decided that I should come out of hiding!

I am not a new quilter but i haven't quilted in a long time, and my poor sewing machine hasn't seen much use other than hemming pants in a few years. :-) I am a full time professional artist and art teacher by trade, I started in the decorative arts industry where I spent 25 years travelling, designing, publishing and teaching but as my work progressed and my tastes and interests evolved I decided to make the leap into the "fine" art industry where I have been pleasingly successful, earning a "Best of Show" at Paint Ontario earlier this year! I also do commission Pet Portraits...and I take all my own photographs so all of that keeps my pretty busy!

As the cycle of life moves forward I am now at the stage where my children have left the nest, my husband is "apprenticing" for retirement and only working PT at an antique mall. Next year we are planning to sell our house and embark on another big move and an even bigger project (huge actually) renovating my family home (since 1873) and opening it as a B&B with a small art gallery/gift shop/antique shop.

Having said all that, I have been sewing since I was a young girl, learned on my Great grandmothers Singer treadle (which I still have) and by the time I was a teen I was sewing clothing, quilts, and home decor...and I carried on with that after I was married with baby quilts, baby clothes...and then prom dresses and ball gowns (eek!) and always home decor...drapery, pillows and slipcovers every time we moved.