Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Introduce Yourself
  • Hi from Albuquerque, NM >
  • Hi from Albuquerque, NM

• Hi from Albuquerque, NM

Old 06-18-2007, 03:41 AM

Greetings from the SW!! I've been quilting for about 5 years, self taught. Never took a formal class but joined a quilt group and learned tons from those gals. Picked up lots of techniques by reading other quilting forums.

:cry: My mom is a victim of nursing home neglect/abuse and now lives with us...DH, and two sons (23/17). I've taken a leave of absece from my job (Elem School Libraria) to stay home to care for her. She bed ridden, stage 4 bed sore, unable to wak. Really sad shape.

I used to jokingly say that quilting was my theapy but since Mom fell in Jan and broke her hip, quilting or playing with fabric truely IS my coping mechanism (sp).

I love this hobby and find myself playing with fabric every day. Poor family is starving but they know how to work the microwave and Buger King is just up the hill. :mrgreen:

Enough about me. Back to the machine.

Julie in NM

If you never work on it, you'll never finish it!
    Old 06-18-2007, 04:04 AM

Welcome Julie, sounds like you have your hands full. Your mother is blessed to have you. So many people ignore their elderly. It will be hard on you but it will come back to you in all sorts of blessings!!!
    this board helps to relieve all sorts of stress, we are like family. Keep sharing with us!
    Old 06-18-2007, 06:06 AM

Welcome Julie. I am so sorry about your Mother, but we're here for you.

Take care,
    Carla
    Old 06-18-2007, 08:32 AM

Welcome Julie! George Jetson is one of my heros. Love the microwave! :lol:
    Old 06-19-2007, 04:48 AM

Welcome Julie! you will love it here. take care of yourself also. I have been visiting the hospital since Easter to see father-in Law and it is taking a toll on us. My sewing machine is my best friend when I need to let it all out. Donna
    Old 06-19-2007, 05:01 AM