Hi all!

Old 03-26-2008, 09:04 AM

I'm new to the world of quilting--how I got here, I don't know! One day I was walking through Kmart and came across a Kenmore sewing machine that was marked down to $40 (from $100)--how could I pass that up?--and the next day I'm waiting for 8 yards of fabric to be delivered.

Growing up, I had a quilt my grandmother gave me in 1988 (I was 6)--and up until a few years ago, I never slept a night without it--it even went to college with me. But now, I'm engaged, living away from home, and my quilt has been misplaced (I'm not ready to admit that it might be lost forever).

So, I'm gonna make my own; very basic: 3-inch squares in 4 different colors. There's just so much information and I'm overwhelmed by it all. But, I'm the type you just need to jump right in--I'm gonna do the top and worry about the rest when it's time.

I've spent a couple hours looking over this forum and it looks like a great place! And I thank you all--in advance--for all your help and inspiration!
Old 03-26-2008, 10:19 AM

Welcome! I'm running a Kenmore these days, too. You can use the Search function above to find some of the threads on beginner quilts. Another source is Eleanor Burns' Quilt in a Day books and videos. Once you learn a few basic techniques, the rest comes easily.
Old 03-26-2008, 11:45 AM

Welcome, Thaat first quilt is scarrey but you will do just fine. I even dove into hand quilting my first one and it turned out great. Just keep in mind the little engine that could!!lol
Old 03-26-2008, 11:48 AM