Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
Hi Ya'll, another newbie here >

Hi Ya'll, another newbie here

Hi Ya'll, another newbie here

Old 10-08-2019, 10:57 AM

Default Hi Ya'll, another newbie here

So glad I found this forum! I have never quilted in my life and for whatever reason I've decided it's something I need to do. I'm sure I'm going to have ton of questions - So thanks in advance for your support.
I have been doing a lot of research and I think I have almost everything I need to start my first quilt. The one thing I can't figure out is... How do you know which batting to use?
My first quilt will be a simple fence rail pattern, I'm using flannel but can't figure out the best batting. I'm considering using fusible fleece to help reduce stretching the fabric. Would love to hear your opinions.

Thanks everyone, I'm looking to forward to my new adventure
Old 10-08-2019, 11:01 AM

Welcome to the Board.
Not sure about the batting, but be sure to pre-wash the flannel. It has a tendency to shrink A LOT! Ask me how I know. LOL
Have fun!!
Old 10-08-2019, 11:54 AM
Power Poster

Welcome from Ontario, Canada. It depends on the loft you want and how you are quilting it. A high loft polyester batt is harder to push through a regular sewing machine. I like to use 80/20 batt if I am quilting it myself. I have never used fusible fleece so I can’t give an opinion.
Old 10-08-2019, 12:33 PM

That gave me pause, (the fusible fleece thing) so I Googled it and guess what? It came back to this previous thread on here - ha!

fusible fleece

BTW - 'for whatever reason' is a great reason to try quilting! Hope you have fun!
Old 10-08-2019, 12:41 PM
Power Poster

Welcome from western NY and happy quilting
Old 10-08-2019, 12:43 PM

Welcome to the Quilting board, the quilting world and welcome from Southern Indiana. You're in for a real treat!
Old 10-08-2019, 02:37 PM