Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
Making a patchwork quilt? >

Making a patchwork quilt?

Making a patchwork quilt?

Old 03-08-2016, 01:02 AM

Default Making a patchwork quilt?

Hi, New on board.
I am a complete novice and wonder how to make one. How do you make it into a quilt what material for the backing or the inside and how do I do this any advise would be much appraised.
Old 03-08-2016, 03:05 AM
Power Poster

Cotton fabrics; patchwork quilts can be made many ways, to me a good beginner size is 6" squares. Sew the squares together into rows, sew the rows together until top is size you want, measure it, you can buy regular quilting cottons & piece a backing or you can purchase wide backing fabrics ( often 90" - 108" wide) backing & batting need to be a bit larger than the top. There are literally thousands of tutorials, videos to watch to learn the whole process or visit a local quilt shop & take a class.
Old 03-08-2016, 05:01 AM
Power Poster

Welcome!
Old 03-08-2016, 05:02 AM

Welcome from Tennessee. You need to check out some you tube videos or stop by a local quilt store. There will be plenty of help here once you get started. Just beware. This hobby is very addictive
Old 03-08-2016, 05:05 AM
Power Poster

Welcome from western NY and happy quilting
Old 03-08-2016, 05:10 AM
Power Poster

Welcome from Corpus Christi, Tx. Let the addiction begin. Many videos and you may want to start with something small like a placemat or table mat. If you go to Missouri Star Quilt Company website Jenny has videos on how to quilt and different patterns for the beginner. You can pause and go back if you want.
Old 03-08-2016, 05:32 AM
Power Poster