Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
Need advise on a new sewing room >

Need advise on a new sewing room

Need advise on a new sewing room

Old 07-24-2011, 01:30 PM

Hi there- I am new to writing (I usually just read :-)), but I am trying to create a little sewing nook for myself in my spare room (10x13), so i don't have to use the kitchen table anymore. I would love to have some "must have's" for my room. Storage ideas, set up, even colors to paint it! Please give me any suggestions to create a place to quilt.

Thanks!
Kathlen
Old 07-24-2011, 01:45 PM

Originally Posted by pbjbaby
Hi there- I am new to writing (I usually just read :-)), but I am trying to create a little sewing nook for myself in my spare room (10x13), so i don't have to use the kitchen table anymore. I would love to have some "must have's" for my room. Storage ideas, set up, even colors to paint it! Please give me any suggestions to create a place to quilt.

Thanks!
Kathlen
a design wall/ or board, stationary or portable, but they are great to have, even if it's just a vinyl (flannel backed) tablecloth, you use the flannel side for your blocks
Old 07-24-2011, 01:48 PM

My *must have* would be a floor to ceiling shelving area at least 3 feet wide, 12-15 inches deep....of course, I'd need a cutting area -24x36 is good size, ironing area, and nice area around my machine for piecing/fmg ...... HTH :d
Old 07-24-2011, 01:53 PM