Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
Newbie from California, needs a bit of starting point help >

Newbie from California, needs a bit of starting point help

Newbie from California, needs a bit of starting point help

Old 11-23-2013, 04:25 PM

Default Newbie from California, needs a bit of starting point help

Hello,

I'm from southern California as as you may have guessed I am a newbie...not just new to the sight but new to quilting!

I have a Singer 401 workhorse that I bought in part for quilting. The other part is that my mom has the one handed down to her from my grandmother and has been said will be passed down to me once my mother passes. That's another 20-30 years away and quite frankly I didn't want to wait for this miraculous machine. On the bright side my mom now has a complete set of cams that she didn't have before since I ordered lots of cams from eBay to insure a full set for both of our machines. Also I have two daughters so there won't be any arguments as to who gets the machines, and the sewing tables they are installed in.

I have yet to quilt anything outside of my jr high school home economics class back in the early 80's and the project I have in mind is a bit ambitious. I desire to create a quilt for my son (14yrs) who suffered a brain injury 3 years ago, based on his absolute favorite things in the world....namely Godzilla...the real Japanese TOHO Studios Godzilla that became King of the Monster's in 1954. I would like to include blocks of not just the various looks of the G-Man, but those of all the monsters he's ever fought. Before diving into this project I plan on doing some smaller pillows first to get a hang of things.

I do not know the first thing about designing a quilt, and I am really hoping there is a software out there than can turn a photo or drawing of one of these monsters into a pattern...I guess something similar to the programs that turn pictures in to cross-stitch patterns.