Origins in NYC

Old 02-17-2016, 02:25 PM

Default Origins in NYC

I have an old commercial Singer in the basement too. My dad was first a pocket book maker and then an upholsterer so he would sew vinyl and leather cushions, slip covers and replace the foam rubber in cushions using that sewing machine.
When I was a kid he took me on jobs in the summer all over NYC & LI and we fixed the coil springs on old sofas & chairs in the customers' homes. He taught me how to hold magnetic tacks in my mouth and use the magnetic uholstery hammer & webbing stretcher & tie springs.
But later as I got out of high school he told me to get a college education because the newer furniture was no longer being made with "good" wood &, he said, people will no longer be fixing furniture in the futue so i better find some other way to make a living. He had a lot of foresight that way.
I got my degree in respiratory therapy and found a way to make my own living just as he said
Old 02-17-2016, 02:32 PM
Power Poster

Welcome from Ontario, Canada. He sounds like a wise and wonderful father.
Old 02-17-2016, 03:04 PM

Default Thank yous

My father had only a third grade eductation, having been raised in an orphanage in NYC because his father was a no good bum. My father was very wise, caring and patient with us three kids. A WWII soldier in The Battle of The Bulge and many other campaigns, ne never chose to talk about those days.
I miss him and my mom tremendously, her with her recent passing this past September, him more than 10 years ago now... All those old timers are slowly leaving this world, the ones who lived through the Great Depression, are slowly leaving us all, and that is very sad indeed!