Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/)
-   -   I don't know how to quilt... (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/i-dont-know-how-quilt-t121923.html)

wannaquilt1 05-09-2011 11:27 AM

but i would love to learn! I have looked at many patterns but none of them explain how to do the actual "quilting" part so where do I find that? I'm lost :)

fabrichore 05-09-2011 11:38 AM

I am still learning how to put all the blocks and backing together, I just started to do the stich in the ditch, which is a form of quilting (the easiest i think), it is the only one I have attempted, you will find this site very helpful, go to your home tab above and there you will find tutorials and links to patterns and links on everything from binding to quilting. very informative, that is how I am learning anyway, step by step...

By the way welcome from Mass...

Jim's Gem 05-09-2011 11:39 AM

Welcome to the board from Southern California!!!

There are lots of wonderful tutorials here on the board and lots and lots of knowledgeable quilters to help you.

DogHouseMom 05-09-2011 11:43 AM

There are two steps ... first you piece the quilt, then you quilt it. Patterns for piecing rarely if ever give directions for quilting.

There are scores of books that teach "quilting" - both basics and books that are more specific about different quilted patterns (feathers, wreaths, etc.)

There are also classes that teach various types of quilting. Check with your local quilt shop.

Also, lots of people piece quilts then send them to someone else to quilt. Nothing in the world wrong with that approach either.

So go ahead and pick a pattern and piece it. In the mean time take a quilt class or get a few quilting books.

luey0202 05-09-2011 11:43 AM