Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Introduce Yourself
So many choices! >

So many choices!

So many choices!

Old 01-01-2011, 06:08 PM

Greetings, all! I am new to quilting and have only a 1949 Singer. It served me well with my first and only project -- a table runner -- but I understand that my Singer has its limitations! Now that I know that I am signing up for more classes, I would like to invest in a new machine, but so many choices! How does a new quilter know what to buy? Maybe I should even consider looking for a well maintained used machine...? Anyway, thanks in advance for any of your suggestions. ~Calli
Old 01-01-2011, 06:18 PM

Hello and welcome from Argentina! :D
Old 01-01-2011, 06:22 PM

Cali-
Don't be so quick to give up your machine. The NEW Singers suck, as a rule. The old ones are prized by many on this board. I have a 1953 Singer 15-91 that is a total workhorse, and a Japanese made 1961 atlas that i also love.

While you may want the bells and whistles of a newer machine, and the computer stuff, your machine will be stitching long after their plastic parts and computer chips have gone to the big graveyard.

There is a thread here for Vintage machines- Billy, (Lostn51) can tell you lots about your machine, if you have the serial number. Check out the thread

http://www.quiltingboard.com/t-43881-1.htm

There are over 500 pages, so reading it all is crazy, but post at the end. Do you know what model you have? Some are highly sought!

And my 53 has a zig-zagger and all kinds of things. I also have a Juki straight stitch machine, and a really cheap Brother that I only use for applique stitches.