Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Links and Resources
Dreaded Drag when free motion quilting >

Dreaded Drag when free motion quilting

Dreaded Drag when free motion quilting

Old 07-13-2014, 05:44 AM

Default Dreaded Drag when free motion quilting

I have been quilting for about 10 years. When I started quilting I decided that I would finish my entire quilt. I know a lot of people will send their quilt out to a long arm for quilting. I taught myself stippling and now have branched out and started taking Craftsy classes. These classes have given me the confidence to incorporate various quilt designs on my quilt tops.

A little over a year ago I found a gently used Handi Quilter 16. The original owner quilted one small table runner then became ill and was unable to use it anymore. Her daughter asked the dealer they had bought it from to help her sell it.

I purchased the overlay but no extra extension tables. I have it next to my sewing machine cabinet which is to the right if the Handi Quilter table. I still have the dreaded drag and have tried rolling and clamping the quilt. I am on the Handi Quilter forum and have been reading posts about the Jennoop Quilt Suspenders. So many were giving accolades for solving their drag issues when free motion quilting. I went to the website and watched the video on how the system works. I place my order Wednesday of last week and received the shipment Friday afternoon. I opened the box and assembled the frame in 5 minutes. Set it up around my Handi Quilter table and away I went resuming my latest free motion quilting project.