Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Machine Embroidery
How much thread needed? >

How much thread needed?

How much thread needed?

Old 03-02-2022, 12:09 PM

Default How much thread needed?

I am going to machine embroider a baby quilt and a queen sized quilt. I am new to everything embroidery and machine quilting. I have sandwiched the quilts and basted the queen sized and am ready to start basting the baby quilt. My question is how much thread is needed for each, is there a chart that estimates it. I know it is dependent on the pattern etc. but how much of the color needed do you make sure you have on hand before starting so that it will match.
Thank you for all your help!!
Old 03-02-2022, 12:55 PM

A spool of embroidery thread or glide thread should last through both quilting projects. The same spool can be used in top and bobbin thread with plenty to spare.
Old 03-02-2022, 04:37 PM

Spools of thread come in different sizes. We did a queen with the bobbin and upper thread in the same color very loosely quilted and we used about 1 1/2 of the 2000 yard spools. To be safe I will buy 2 2000 yard spools to do a queen. I did baby quilts and I just now they were less thread. I use a different color on the top and bottom. We ran out on the queen and had a hard time finding another spool of the same thread. So be safe so you won't be sorry.
Old 03-03-2022, 10:53 AM