Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Machine Embroidery
Regular sewing thread? >

Regular sewing thread?

Regular sewing thread?

Old 11-14-2022, 11:52 AM

Default Regular sewing thread?

I would like to use normal sewing thread to embroider a quilt sandwich together-both top thread and in the bobbin. Has this been done? Should I expect problems and do free motion quilting instead? I am not that good at FM.
Old 11-14-2022, 03:24 PM
Administrator

i use all sorts of thread to machine embroider quilting.
test the thread you want to use on a sample sandwich. it will probably work.
Old 11-14-2022, 04:52 PM

Yes, I would practice on a sample piece using the type of material and batting you will be using. I would use a pretty open type of embroidery design. I made some redwork quilted panels for my sister and I just used Aurifil Thread but used a heavier weight than I usually use to piece to make the outline standout.
Old 11-15-2022, 06:12 AM

I have used machine quilting thread with my embroidery machine before. I have used it with quilting designs and to make freestanding lace.
Old 11-15-2022, 07:12 AM

It would probably depend on what your normal sewing thread was and what weight it was. As stated, make a sample and see how it works.
Old 11-15-2022, 11:35 AM

I don't see why it wouldn't work. Where you'd run into problems is if you did the reverse - use rayon embroidery thread to quilt it together. Embroidery thread tends to be on the fragile side.
Old 11-18-2022, 10:56 PM

My Viking is programmed for 40 weight thread - so as long as I use a 40 weight, all will be good. According to the manual for the machine I can change the tension for the different weight of thread, but my repairman said that works well with sewing but not the embroidery. He said I can do it, but don't be surprised if I don't like the results. So I haven't bothered to try using a different weight.
Old 11-19-2022, 10:20 AM