Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: ? about quilt design software

  1. #1
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,745
    I've never used one before, and am a visual person. I don't need anything fancy.

    What software to you have and love, and why? Are they expensive?

    Any recomendations? Any free trial downloads for me to try on the net before I decide?

    Thanks bunches!

  2. #2
    Super Member ScubaK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South Puget Sound, Wa. State
    Posts
    2,302
    Someone gave me the hint to try Quilt Design Wizard.
    Just google it and it will give you the link.
    I think I am going to order it.
    Kirsten

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wichita KS
    Posts
    753
    I have quiltsoft 6.0 right now. It works ok but has a few bugs in the program. I'm wanting EQ 6

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    513
    I have EQ5, and if you're really a computer wiz, it's probably easy. I keep trying. But it seems like it would be great if I could just get the hang of it!!!

  5. #5
    Super Member Rose Marie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Clay Springs AZ
    Posts
    3,228
    The Quilt Design Wizard is great for several reasons but mostly the cost, 29 dollars.
    You can try out different blocks and colors togather to see an overall quilt design.
    You can make the blocks any size you want.
    You can rotate etc.
    Free downloads of new quilts every month.
    Borders and sash designs and sizes.
    print out blocks in piecework or pp, which ever you want.
    It is very user friendly.

  6. #6
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,745
    Other than more more choices, does the EQ5 & quilt design wizard work the same way? Is there that much of a difference?

    I don't want anything too complicated, my brain is already on overload. :lol:

  7. #7
    Super Member Rose Marie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Clay Springs AZ
    Posts
    3,228
    Wizard is not a block design program. It provides only basic blocks, it claims 200 but seems like less. EQ is much more expensive.

  8. #8
    Cordelia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Maryland/D.C.
    Posts
    678
    I have EQ 5 and I thought the Quilt Design Wizard is the limited version of it.

    I'll have to check.

    I too am always trying to get the hang of EQ 5. EQ 6 is the latest version out now, though I haven't upgraded.

    There are some very advanced features in EQ 5 that most people may or may not use. Sometimes a more basic package is appropriate.

    I design quilts in my EQ 5 program all the time. I download fabric images at their site.

    But let's get to the bottom line of what you really want to know:

    EQ 5 was around $159 when I bought it a couplel years ago.

    Why don't you visit their website? Here's the link:

    http://www.electricquilt.com/

  9. #9
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,745
    Thanks Cordelia, that's where I was comparing the QDW & EQ5 at. The $ aren't the issue, I just don't to to say to myself "I wish I would have gotten the other one". :lol: I did that with my embroidery software.

  10. #10
    Cordelia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Maryland/D.C.
    Posts
    678
    That reminds me, EQ 5 has several embroidery designs from Amazing Designs included that you can design with.


  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    616
    i have QDW (got it at Hancock Fabrics for $15) but it's very limiting. i want to be able to put my own blocks together. they have lots to choose from, but never the exact one that i want to use. i also want to be able to import fabrics, but haven't figured out how or if i can with QDW.

    i'm saving up for EQ6. wish me luck with my upcoming garage sale!

  12. #12
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,745
    Well, I've decided to get the EQ5. Thanks everyone for your imput!

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    616
    good for you! did you find a great price somewhere?

  14. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    northern New England
    Posts
    460
    May I ask why you chose EQ5 over EQ6? :?:

  15. #15
    Senior Member Roben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SW IA
    Posts
    900
    nor'easter, I can't speak for anyone else but I would choose EQ5 over EQ6 because EQ6 has a limitation of how many times you can install it (4 I think, but don't quote me on that just yet. I just remember it's a low number.) EQ5 doesn't have that restriction.

    If you've ever had computer problems and had to re-format your hard drive, the installation restriction is something to consider. Personally I reformat every 6 months or so, or if I'm having an issue. I feel that if I purchase the rights to use the program, then the number of times I install it shouldn't be an issue - but that's JMHO. :-)

  16. #16
    Super Member Quilting Aggi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    2,609
    I have EQ6 and absolutely LOVE IT!

  17. #17
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,745
    Yes, I found it here for $110.

    http://www.electricquilt.com/Shop/EQ5/EQ5.asp

    Thanks for the tip Roben.

  18. #18
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    northern New England
    Posts
    460
    Thanks, Roben. The only thing I've ever had to reinstall has been drivers for hardware. It is 4 activations, but they only say you have to contact them after that and they will evaluate your request for more. It's a piracy issue thing, nothing more. It never says that they will charge you for another license without letting you explain why you need to reactivate again.

    The EQ site says you only need to reactivate if you 1)reinstall it on a different computer, 2) reformat the drive Windows is on, or 3) reinstall Windows (like to upgrade Windows). All in all, I don't think it would be a problem, at least for me, and I've heard that EQ6 is much easier to use than EQ5 and has lots more/expanded features. I'm just starting to look and am hoping to suggest design software as a Christmas present. Excel has it's limits! :D Also glad to hear you love it, Aggi!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.