Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
advice on bag >

advice on bag

advice on bag

Old 06-06-2012, 09:07 PM

Default advice on bag

For my mother's July birthday I am making her a bag - since she already has quilts, runners, placemats, etc... what's a quilter to do? Anyway, this is my first attempt and I have two questions:

Where do you find magnetic closures? Walmart doesn't have any and neither does my local quilt shop. I'm going on a small shop hop on Friday and will check those shops. I will also be near a Hobby Lobby.

Do you put anything in the bottom to firm it up? This is a smallish bag - 11X13. The pattern suggests buying the designer's product, but I wondered if you use anything and if so, what?

I've done the front, the back, and the tab, but am at a standstill until I find a closer thingy. The pattern also suggests velcro, but I'm not a fan.
Old 06-06-2012, 10:15 PM

I'm surprised that your quilt shop doesn't have them. I think you can get them on several on line places, like Nancy's Notions, or I Have a Notion, or JoAnn's, maybe even Connecting Threads. I have often used plastic canvas to line the bottom of bags. Someone on here suggested cutting the plastic dividers from the ArtBin Super Satchels, if you have any. Almost any sheet of plastic would work, as long as you can cut it and it seems to be firm enough. Good luck with your search.
Old 06-06-2012, 11:53 PM

The dollar store here has flexible cutting boards that can be used in the bottoms. I bought my magnetic snaps in the bargain bins at Joann's, 12 for a dollar or two.
Old 06-07-2012, 12:09 AM