Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Advice needed about hiring a quilter...... >

Advice needed about hiring a quilter......

Advice needed about hiring a quilter......

Old 11-19-2011, 07:32 PM

Default Advice needed about hiring a quilter......

I am making a quilt for someone for Christmas. It's the first one I've ever had professionally quilted. My plan was to send it off to Missouri Star, however recently, a girl that I'm very close to reminded me that her mom does quilting and would do it for less money than MS. My question is.....how do you decide who to hire? Do you insist on seeing someone's work first? How badly could she mess it up? I'm a rookie, so I really don't know these things. Please give me advice. Has anyone had any experience with MS? Thank you!
Old 11-19-2011, 08:28 PM

Yes, absolutely you could ask to see some of her "samples". You would need to meet with her anyway to tell her how you wanted your quilt to be quilted. And to ask her prices, etc.
Old 11-19-2011, 08:44 PM

I hate to say this but, I wouldn't take a quilt to any quilter at this time of year unless I had the appointment booked months ago. Any quilter that's not totally booked probably isn't that good or is fairly new.
Old 11-19-2011, 08:47 PM

I agree - most quilters would be booked out till well after Christmas.
Having said that, if she is fairly new might still be OK but you MUST ask to see samples of her work and speak to people she has done work for.
Old 11-20-2011, 12:25 AM
Power Poster

I would definitely want to see her work... and lots of it, not just one piece.
Old 11-20-2011, 12:35 AM