Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Advice/support for a new sewer? >

Advice/support for a new sewer?

Advice/support for a new sewer?

Old 12-10-2013, 09:13 AM

Default Advice/support for a new sewer?

Hello,

I am quite new to sewing and trying my hands at doing basic quilting. I have been sitting on some projects for almost a year now due to feeling intimidated by sewing. It is just so new to me.

Any advice or support out there?

Thank you,

Karen
Old 12-10-2013, 09:23 AM

Location: Small town in Northeast Oregon close to Washington and Idaho

Hello Karen! Welcome to the quilting world. It is normal to feel intimidated by sewing, but you just have to dive in and go for it. If you are worried you are going to ruin your good fabric, practice with some fabric that doesn't mean so much to you at first. I've been quilting since 1992 and still feel intimidated at times. It's normal. We just have to remember this is fun!! And practice practice practice. If you are unsure of yourself, ask questions here on the board. We are all very supportive and fun loving! So happy you are quilting. Enjoy it and the mistakes you are bound to make. I just finished a quilt and made a big boo boo on putting it together, but when I put the picture on the board, no one noticed my mistake. So, mistakes can be overlooked! Let loose and have fun!
Old 12-10-2013, 09:24 AM

When I first started sewing I thought I would never be able to do it. I have a disability and cannot use my feet at all so I had to learn to sew using my right hand to operate the foot pedal and my left to guide the fabric. My seams were terrible and my first quilts had holes, but I loved it. I have been sewing for 3 years now and my quilts get better and better. I am confident enough now that I am making other small projects for Christmas presents this year. My advice is to throw all that self doubt out the window and go for it. You can only get better!

Melissa
Old 12-10-2013, 09:25 AM