Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Advice? Working with knits for a memory quilt >

Advice? Working with knits for a memory quilt

Advice? Working with knits for a memory quilt

Old 01-25-2016, 09:31 AM

Default Advice? Working with knits for a memory quilt

I'm working on a memory/first year quilt. I wanted to make it out of some of the clothes my daughter wore during her first year. My vision for the project was for it to be a quilt, with a pattern, just made out of her clothes, similar to the quilts I have that my grandmother and husband's great-grandmother made. So, of course, I need to have my pieces cut with accuracy. My pattern calls for 3.5 and 6.5 in squares, it's a very simple Irish Chain pattern.

I have very little apparel sewing experience, so I have never cut or sewn a knit fabric before.

I realized that I'd be fussy-cutting every piece, and it would be a lot of work, but I can't cut these knits accurately at all. I haven't done too many because I know what I'm doing isn't working, and I don't want to keep going and use up too many of the outfits. I'm accidentally stretching them out, or they're curling on me despite ironing (which doesn't help much).

I know they sell stabilizer for apparel sewing. Is that what I need? If so, what kind and how do I use it? I seriously have *no clue* what to do, but I have my heart set on this pattern and I don't really want to change it without exhausting all my options.

I jokingly told my husband when she was 1 (and I had all my outfits selected) that I'd be happy if I finished the quilt for her 5th birthday. She's almost 2.5 so I think my joke might actually be a reality!

Any help is appreciated!
Old 01-25-2016, 09:39 AM
Power Poster

You need to use a fusible stabilizer (also called interfacing) like is used for T-shirt quilts. You can get it at JoAnnes or Walmart. Here is one I have used:

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Pellon-Fus...-Bolt/21976551