Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Am I out of it? >

Am I out of it?

Am I out of it?

Old 03-20-2024, 03:14 PM

Default Am I out of it?

I've been sewing for 50+ years, always on vintage mechanical machines. A few years ago I got my first "new" machine, a Singer 4452 Heavy Duty. Also mechanical, not computerized. When I got it, I noticed no holes for oiling. I called the CS number and they confirmed, it does not need to be oiled. I understand, on newer machines they have plastic gears etc.

Today I read the manual and there is nothing about cleaning the machine. I have always done all my own maintenance and am used to periodically cleaning and oiling. It has been getting noisy. I took off the plate to access the bobbin area. Used my seam ripper and tweezers to take out a ton of lint, put a few drops of oil around the race (which is still metal) - and oh my goodness, so much quieter!!

So am I out of it, are we not meant to do simple maintenance on our machines anymore, but just take them in for service? I still do not see any good way to open up the top but since it is so nice and quiet now, maybe I don't need to.
Old 03-20-2024, 03:30 PM

Yep, they want our money. I have a Janome 4900 which is well out of warranty. The original manual actually said it had to be 'serviced by a licensed technician' every 12 months. It did not specify if I used it 8 hours a day every day or once in a blue moon.

I bought a digital copy of the service manual for a whopping $6.99 US a couple of years ago. DH helps me take the carcass apart and then I remove any lint that I can see and we just follow the manual as far as oiling is concerned. I will not mess with the computer components or the timing, but doing my own general upkeep is better than spending $100+ for someone else to oil my machine.
Old 03-20-2024, 03:35 PM