Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: Any Viking Sapphire owners out there?

  1. #1
    Super Member katier825's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,157
    Blog Entries
    3
    I just bought a Viking Sapphire 830 to replace my old Viking. I was wondering if anyone experienced it being tempermental about certain brands/types of thread. I was tinkering around with mine and it doesn't seem to like the Signature varigated I have. I was going to use it to finish up a quilt I'm working on, but now I might need to come up with a new plan for that particular project. I never had this issue with my old Viking; it worked great no matter what thread I used.

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3,393
    What exactly is happening? I have a Viking Platinum 755 Quilt, the predecessor to the Sapphire. PittsburghPam has a Sapphire. Maybe, she has some suggestions.

  3. #3
    Super Member katier825's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,157
    Blog Entries
    3
    the top thread looks fine, but the bobbin thread is bunching up - and once it gets going it looks like long eyelashes on the backside. i've rethreaded a few times, then gave up for awhile. it was working fine when i had coats & clark dual duty thread in it. nice (fairly) even stitches on the front and back with no or very small "eyelashes". i have an appt with the dealer tomorrow. i'll bring it with me and see what advice i get from her too.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3,393
    The only thread I can think of, which might cause that problem with a new machine is Hand Quilting thread. It has a wax coating on it and would gum up the works in the machine.

  5. #5
    Super Member Rose Marie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Clay Springs AZ
    Posts
    3,223
    I have the Sapphire 830 and found only coat n clarks works. None of the more expensive threads would work for me either.
    You do have to use the green bobbins, dont use any others.
    I finally found out how to set the 1/4 inch when I took it in for a cleaning.
    The button on the right with the ziz zag symble then arrow to the 1/4 inch.
    Then I move the needle to 3.0 to get a scant 1/4 in.

  6. #6
    RochesterQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    9
    I have a Viking Sapphire, too. During the owner's classes, the ladies said over and over never to use Coats and Clark, but one of my classmates did and it wound around the presser foot from the top and bobbin thread and broke the foot in half - no joke, it broke an acrylic foot in half!! Needless to say, I never tried Coats and Clark. I usually use Guterman and I only have regular, user error issues.

  7. #7
    Super Member Rose Marie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Clay Springs AZ
    Posts
    3,223
    Dont use the cheap coats and clark. Use the good one with the pop up top.
    I have never had a problem with it.
    The cone threads keep breaking on me or leaving loops on the bottom.
    I did find the cones work better if I leave the holder horizontal not upright.
    Im trying to use them up since I bought a few of them.

    Yes the class told me the same thing just to sell their thread.
    I have never had a foot break, that sound like a freak accident.

  8. #8
    Super Member katier825's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,157
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Rose Marie
    Dont use the cheap coats and clark. Use the good one with the pop up top.
    I have never had a problem with it.
    The cone threads keep breaking on me or leaving loops on the bottom.
    I did find the cones work better if I leave the holder horizontal not upright.
    Im trying to use them up since I bought a few of them.

    Yes the class told me the same thing just to sell their thread.
    I have never had a foot break, that sound like a freak accident.
    What do you mean the one with the pop up top? Can you post a picture or link? I usually get Coats & Clark Dual Duty.

  9. #9
    RochesterQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Rose Marie
    Dont use the cheap coats and clark. Use the good one with the pop up top.

    Yes the class told me the same thing just to sell their thread.
    I have never had a foot break, that sound like a freak accident.
    Excellent distinction, between the cheap and the good stuff. This was the cheap C&C and it probably was a freak accident that they used to their advantage. It worked on me, though I only bought their thread one time - three spools. The first two were lovely, and the third was irregular with little thread lumps that got stuck in the machine and needle. - likely another fluke, but I never bought it again! :D

  10. #10
    Super Member Rose Marie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Clay Springs AZ
    Posts
    3,223
    Look at the top of the spool and pull it up. If it is a pop top it will come in half. It holds the thread in place on a new spool instead of the little cut the cheaper spools have.

  11. #11
    Super Member Quilting Aggi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    2,609
    sorry I have a Platnium 750. But saying that, have you tried using one of those extension spool holders that go on the side of your machine. Perhaps it just needs to feed the thread a bit higher off the spool before going through the machine. My machine prefers sewing that way much better than using the spool pin attached to the machine.

    I have used the different varigated threads in my machine without many problems

  12. #12
    Super Member katier825's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,157
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Rose Marie
    Look at the top of the spool and pull it up. If it is a pop top it will come in half. It holds the thread in place on a new spool instead of the little cut the cheaper spools have.
    Now I know what you mean. The older style spools have the bumpy edge that my thread always got caught on. my hubby looked at me like i was nuts when i took the nail file to it one day to smooth it out! LOL

    Quilting Aggi had an interesting recommendation on where to place the spool. I'll have to try that too.

    I guess I got spoiled that my old Viking worked well with any thread I tried. I will have to learn the quirks of the new machine and just go with it.

  13. #13
    Super Member pittsburgpam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,488
    I have a Sapphire 830 and I had lots of little issues the first days. I have used different threads and had different issues but you know what I think the main culprit seems to be for me? When I have literally been sewing for hours straight doing speed piecing it just starts acting up until I quit. I think it's getting hot or something and the left end where the light is gets very warm.

    I find that I need to re-thread everything when the bobbin gets messed up. I have also found that sometimes the bobbin thread comes out from between the tiny little metal guides.

    I am expecting an order of Essentials thread ANY DAY NOW (sheesh I've been waiting and waiting) so I will have to see how it likes it.

  14. #14
    Super Member thimblebug6000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    6,078
    I have a Sapphire 870....last week I went to a "foot"" demo......when I mentioned problems with some threads she showed me....if you raise the handle on your machine you can see some little rectangle holes.....guess what? you can BUY special thread holders that fit into those holes...then the larger thread spools will fit nicely on them and should help with the way the thread feeds through your machine. apparently the Sapphire is the same body as most of their embroidery machines so it has alot of the same hiccups, but not as many of the advantages.... Personally I HATE the way this machine loads a bobbin.(I have had a Lily 540 for years) ...and I don't really like the way the foot slightly lifts each time you stop sewing when in the needle down position.....BUT.....I DO REALLY LIKE the 10" harp area......I guess it's a give & take world.... usually I use a gutermann or a mettler 50 weight for piecing, and a 40 weight for machine quilting....HTH

  15. #15
    Super Member Rose Marie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Clay Springs AZ
    Posts
    3,223
    Wow, I just looked for those holes, yes they are there. I wonder how much the attachment costs.
    I like that it lifts the foot a little when you stop with the needle down. It is nice for turns and chain piecing.
    What I dislike is how low the machine sits. Makes it difficult to change to a walking foot and to thread the needle.( I have never figured out how to use the needle threader.) It is just to hard to fit your hand under it.
    I dont like the bobbin winder either, sometimes it just dosnt want to grab the thread onto the bobbin.
    The 10 inch throat is wonderful.

  16. #16
    Super Member Quilting Aggi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    2,609
    Quote Originally Posted by Rose Marie
    Wow, I just looked for those holes, yes they are there. I wonder how much the attachment costs.
    I like that it lifts the foot a little when you stop with the needle down. It is nice for turns and chain piecing.
    What I dislike is how low the machine sits. Makes it difficult to change to a walking foot and to thread the needle.( I have never figured out how to use the needle threader.) It is just to hard to fit your hand under it.
    I dont like the bobbin winder either, sometimes it just dosnt want to grab the thread onto the bobbin.
    The 10 inch throat is wonderful.
    I love the needle threader on my Platnium and don't have any trouble with it. I've had my machine for 4 1/2 years now and love it!!!

  17. #17
    Super Member thimblebug6000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    6,078
    If you try using the needle threader just make sure your needle is in the highest position, or you may break the teensy metal hook off like one lady in my class. I have used it but find it rather fiddly.

  18. #18
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3,393
    Quote Originally Posted by thimblebug6000
    If you try using the needle threader just make sure your needle is in the highest position, or you may break the teensy metal hook off like one lady in my class. I have used it but find it rather fiddly.
    I broke the needle threader on my Platinum. Someday, I'll go check the cost on replacing the part. But I don't have enough trouble threading it by hand, yet.

  19. #19
    Super Member pittsburgpam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,488
    I love the needle threader but sometimes it is "fiddly" because the thread won't come off the tiny hook. I found that if I pull it through and then move the mechanism almost all the way up smoothly, then let it go, that the little jolt of it springing back gets the thread off the hook.

    It is very hard to get your hands in there, the space is so narrow.

  20. #20
    Super Member pennyswings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Originally from NY, now retired in Argentina. Miss the USA!!! :-(
    Posts
    1,578
    Quote Originally Posted by katier825
    the top thread looks fine, but the bobbin thread is bunching up - and once it gets going it looks like long eyelashes on the backside. i've rethreaded a few times, then gave up for awhile. it was working fine when i had coats & clark dual duty thread in it. nice (fairly) even stitches on the front and back with no or very small "eyelashes". i have an appt with the dealer tomorrow. i'll bring it with me and see what advice i get from her too.
    Katier:
    I do not have a Viking but do have a tempermental Janome and this happens to me sometimes too when I change threads. I have to adjust the thread tension and that seems to help. Sometimes if the thread tension is too loose it will do this on my machine. Drives me crazy!

  21. #21
    Super Member katier825's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,157
    Blog Entries
    3
    I've got it working well for regular or fancy stitches. Free motion is another story. I had it working great on my samples, but when I put the quilt in, it was terrible. I tried twice, and ripped out twice with an ok sample between. I'm going to experiment with different weight thread and see if that makes a difference. I might just need more time to get adjusted to this machine.

    I do love the 10" space!

  22. #22
    Super Member kathymarie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Southeastern West Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,056
    Quote Originally Posted by Rose Marie
    I have the Sapphire 830 and found only coat n clarks works. None of the more expensive threads would work for me either.
    You do have to use the green bobbins, dont use any others.
    I finally found out how to set the 1/4 inch when I took it in for a cleaning.
    The button on the right with the ziz zag symble then arrow to the 1/4 inch.
    Then I move the needle to 3.0 to get a scant 1/4 in.
    ...good to know...I've just had my 830 for about 3 weeks and so far I really like it but haven't worked out all the details on settings. I bought it on ebay from a sewing machine dealer but it's used so there's no finding a local dealer to help me with all the bells and whistles. It's encouraging to see that some of you guys really like yours. Right after I got mine I started seeing bad reviews about them everywhere regarding thread issues, broken needles and nesting threads when fmq.

  23. #23
    Super Member kathymarie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Southeastern West Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,056
    I found those little holes under the handle...does anyone know where to get the spool attachment for these are what they are called?

  24. #24
    Senior Member Hinterland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Hudson Valley, NY
    Posts
    943
    Quote Originally Posted by kathymarie
    I've just had my 830 for about 3 weeks and so far I really like it but haven't worked out all the details on settings. I bought it on ebay from a sewing machine dealer but it's used so there's no finding a local dealer to help me with all the bells and whistles. It's encouraging to see that some of you guys really like yours. Right after I got mine I started seeing bad reviews about them everywhere regarding thread issues, broken needles and nesting threads when fmq.
    There's a Yahoo group devoted to Sapphire sewing machines. They're very helpful in troubleshooting any problems you might have.

    Janet

  25. #25
    Super Member donnalynett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,318
    I bought a new Sapphire 855 last August and have this same problem if I forget to adjust the tension when doing free motion quilting. I have to adjust it up to "6" on the dial or it does the "eyelash" thing on the back of my quilt. I have tried about every brand of thread and it does the same with any brand.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.