Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: For anyone that refurbishes old sewing machines

I think Billy is one, that has cleaned them up and repainted them . When you repaint them , why do you pick a different color than the original? I admit they look very pretty. And if I have a featherweight that is black and in good shape , no scratches; would you suggest having it repainted to my favorite color ( purple). ? or just leave it alone?
    Thanks for your opinions. Elaine

I'm no professional, but I'd leave it alone.

If it is good shape I wouldn't touch it!!! People only paint the ones that need help.(rusty, chipped, bad scratches)

Blog Entries
    I've seen painted Featherweights at the quilt shows. Any color you wanted. The machine is first put in excellent working condition and then painted. The man that does this has an excellent reputation. I'll try and find his website. If you have the Featherweight for the collector's value then keep it the original paint job. Featherweights aren't that valuable, about $400 for mint condition so if you want a purple one go for it!

And check out this site; they are so beautiful and SO expensive. www.deskdave.com.

Blog Entries
    Those prices are steep but the colors are worth it. The paint has to be baked on and applied perfectly and from what I was told is very time consuming. I saw some of his machines in person and they are stunning and high quality workmanship.

If it is in good cosmetic condition I would leave it alone. I have a 1956 Featherweight in pretty good condition, but I am looking for a cheap and battered Featherweight to have restored and painted candy apple red! Since it is so expensive to have them repainted, I am waiting for that perfect machine at a very very low price.