Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Anyone use McAfee on their computers?

  1. #1
    Super Member Carron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    desert area of California
    Posts
    2,266
    I have had McAfee protection on my computer for many years and have been very pleased with it.
    However, this morning, while tring to read some of the topics posted here on the board, McAfee has blocked several stating that there are potential hazards included in them and is preventing me from even seening any of the postings.
    I can do P.M.s and post my own but that seems to be the end of the access.
    Does anyone have any ideas as to what is going on or what I can do?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Member Airwick156's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Grants Pass, Oregon
    Posts
    3,558
    Blog Entries
    6
    Sorry I don't. I have Nortons.

  3. #3
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    44,528
    Blog Entries
    45
    i have webroot and have never had a problem with anything being blocked. also, i use firefox and it has not given me any danger messages either

  4. #4
    Power Poster blueangel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    20,478
    I use AVg and neverhad any problems

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    2,736
    I use microsoft security.

  6. #6
    Super Member lawsonmugs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    missouri
    Posts
    7,418
    I use mcafee no problems here.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18
    I have McAfee and just the last few days have had the same problem. Not every post, just some of them. Most likely they will have a fix for it in a few days. Probably a part of their program doesn't like something. On the whole I am totally satisfied with McAfee.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    696
    I have McAfee but have not had that problem. There was a previous post about the same thing. Patrice asked that you save the error message and forward it to tech support. Can't remember the email address. You could contact Patrice.

  9. #9
    Super Member deedum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bluebell
    Posts
    4,235
    grisoft avg, check it out!

  10. #10
    Super Member Jill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Central Ohio
    Posts
    1,076
    AVG here and I recently had one blocked.

  11. #11
    Super Member Lori S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    9,385
    Quote Originally Posted by JackieMN
    I have McAfee and just the last few days have had the same problem. Not every post, just some of them. Most likely they will have a fix for it in a few days. Probably a part of their program doesn't like something. On the whole I am totally satisfied with McAfee.
    I too have McAfee and have the same going on in the last few days , I think it has something to do with the ads that are appearing at the top of the page. I recently had an update and it since then I noticed when the ad changes sometimes that notice shows up.

  12. #12
    Super Member athomenow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pataskala, OH
    Posts
    1,453
    I use Norton AntiVirus and it has proven very helpful in a lot of instances.

  13. #13
    Super Member Battle Axe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Northeastern Indiana
    Posts
    1,244
    Blog Entries
    1
    I got a virus while I had McAfee in place. I had to wait until my McAfee was up to cancel it because they would not listen to me that I did not want it anymore. They told me they could not keep all the bad stuff out.

    Ended up with NOD. Got it from a computer store. So far no problems.

  14. #14
    Super Member ladypetite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    1,652
    Quote Originally Posted by Battle Axe
    I got a virus while I had McAfee in place. I had to wait until my McAfee was up to cancel it because they would not listen to me that I did not want it anymore. They told me they could not keep all the bad stuff out.

    Ended up with NOD. Got it from a computer store. So far no problems.
    I had this identical problem with McAfee.....UGH! Prior to that I had Norton and it made my computer run too slow, frequently interferring with my web downloads, etc. About a year and a half ago, I installed Avast. I really like this anti-virus program.

  15. #15
    Senior Member Tudey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Chehalis, WA
    Posts
    740
    We used to use it---we have found Panda to be a better choice.

  16. #16
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    5,063
    Blog Entries
    1
    The first thing I do is remove it when I get a new pc; tons of problems with it.

  17. #17
    Super Member EagarBeez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Eagar, Arizona
    Posts
    1,641
    I use Norton and have had no problems

  18. #18
    Member the needle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bay Area in California
    Posts
    6
    I have heard McAfee is not 100 0/0 secure... I use Kaspersky and neve had a problem.. Yet.

  19. #19
    Super Member Carron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    desert area of California
    Posts
    2,266
    Thanks everyone, I had no idea that there were so many different anti virus programs available.
    As it is I not longer have the problem. Not sure if McAfee corrected it or someones' magic wand did it but I am happy to report all is well.....for now!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.